Petlife logo

Cuddles Covered in Fur

(wo)man's best friend

By fourleafsoulPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

So, let me start by introducing my little guy, Franco, a shih-poo with the attitude of an old man but the energy of a toddler. He’s named after James Franco, being as though “Pineapple Express” is one of my favorite movies. I didn’t have a name in mind before picking him up, but upon arrival it seemed fitting, so we went with it. I mean, I went with it, it’s not like he had much say in the decision. Okay, so now that we’ve moved pass that confessional, let me tell you why this little guy is such a gem.

Franco came to me at a time in my life I never knew I’d need him most. I was still living with my folks, in-between jobs, and not too sure of my next venture. In my whirlwind of events, I always envisioned a dog by my side. We briefly had a dog when I was a toddler, but the memories were blurred with just a glimpse of a fluffy white pup. I came to my mom with the news that a friend’s dog had her second litter and they needed to get rid of the puppies as soon as possible. After much convincing, not to mention he’d be free, she agreed. My dad was already on board, although it wasnt necessarily his breed of choice. I smiled the entire ride in anticipation. My little guy was waiting for me. One of the last two to get scooped up. He was so tiny, but I was warned he was feisty which wasn’t a problem because…same. I was excited to begin my journey as a dog mom! He nestled his little self in my arms, and we drove to PetSmart on the way home to get everything he needed. Franco learned quickly, his personality was one of a kind, and he immediately became one of my best friends. I never thought I’d know a bond as close as my siblings, but here we were.

When Franco was about five, I made my first move out of my parent’s home - out of state at that. Of course, he came with me! This wouldn’t be one of those instances where I’d only see him when I came home to visit. Apartment searches didn’t happen without the pet filter on! Although my family developed a close relationship with him as well, it was pretty apparent he was my baby. I’m sure him sleeping on my chest as a pup had a lot to do with that. Any who, these were the defining moments of our forever bond. We took walks around the city and neighborhood to get acquainted with what we now called home, Richmond, Virginia. When it’s your first time on your own, life hits different; especially since up until that point I spent the greater amount of my life with five other people (a two-parent home with 3 siblings). Unbeknownst to him, Franco became my healer. I wasn’t aware of what it was like to be alone, not just physically but with your own thoughts. I never wanted to be alone because it was unfamiliar, but ultimately life forces you into uncomfortable spaces to build character. As I adjusted to living with just Franco and I, I experienced my first heartbreak. The move to a new state, though not too far from home in Maryland, became too much for an already shaky foundation. I was devastated and didn’t have my mom or sister there for comforting. Franco may not know it, but those puppy dog eyes and scoots closer to me with his head on my lap comforted me in the best ways on my worst days. When I’d cry, he’d push his head under my arms. It was then that I realized Franco wasn’t just the true definition of “(wo)man’s best friend,” but also an emotional support animal to me. As someone who deals with unspoken anxiety and depression, he saved me from myself so many times - and continues to do so. Nine years will fly by if you let ‘em, that’s why memories are so rewarding.

I don’t think anyone knows you better than your pet, really. They hear your outbursts, they can sense when you’re feeling down, and they force you to go out and get some fresh air on the days you can’t seem to peel yourself from bed. It’s the cries of joy and tail-wagging when you walk through the door…even if you’re only gone for an hour. It’s the snuggles at your feet when it’s time for bed. It’s the paw on the laptop when it’s time to take a break from work. It’s the backflips and lunges of joy when playing ball. It’s honestly the forever bond. How warm are cuddles if they aren’t covered in fur?

dog
Like

About the Creator

fourleafsoul

welcome to my thoughts, find a seat and get cozy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.