Petlife logo

Crystal

The Family Dog

By Dee Mae ElvaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

My 17 year old Jack Russell Terrier was moving slower and not as spry as she once was. It was time to find her a friend a puppy that she could help train. I was looking for a Jack Russell as she was my heart and I loved her dearly, but I know she wasn’t going to last forever. As I was looking, I came across a homely looking little terrier “X” with big eyes. I had no idea what kind of terrier she could possibly be, but those eyes, they looked in my soul and they are intelligent just what I need in a puppy (puppy as in a generic term, I call all dogs “puppy”).

I showed the picture to my husband he said, “that is the ugliest dog I have ever seen”. I continued to stare at her and I filled out the application. On the application I filled out how I love naughty dogs and how I love how intelligent terriers are. I was application #6 but their #1 choice because everyone else wrote about how the puppy was cute.

I waited a few days then received a phone call from the rescue that had the cute, smart, terrified little terrier. They let me know I was their choice, and they were able to bring the puppy over in a few days. So now was time to tell my husband I got a dog. So once again I pulled up her picture. I showed him the picture and showed him the picture of the little terrier and I said “what do you think?” and he said “that is the ugliest dog I have ever seen.” I then said “ imagine her all fattened up and all healthy”. He stopped, looked at the picture and gasped “oh, oh my goodness, she’s so cute!”. I said “good, she’s coming tomorrow”. He stopped and looked at me and said “oh, we’re getting a dog?”. I said “yep!”.

She arrived the next day, she was excited to be checking things out! My Jack Russell was excited to have a puppy. The puppy arrived in the house and the two of them checked out the food dish, the water dish, the cat box, and the trash. All the exciting smells!

While waiting for the foster mom to feel comfortable and for me to fill out paperwork I was given some of Crystal’s (as she was now called) history. She was thrown out of a car window in a February storm on the iciest coldest day of the year, she was bloody and scarred from injuries incurred prior to being thrown from the car, probably from being used as a bait dog. She was taken to a dog shelter and due to her injuries being so severe was set to be euthanized. Since she was a puppy, a rescue was contacted and she was handed over to a rescue where she was treated by vets and nursed back to health for 4 months before she was put up for adoption.

Crystal adjusted immediately to having a family. Sleeping in bed with her family, following us everywhere and is very loyal and very protective of her family. She loves to play dolls with her girl and play toys with the other dogs. She plays “lifeguard” when the family is in the pool. She is everywhere with her family.

Crystal is now 8 years old 100% spoiled by her grandma who now lives with us too. Crystal works hard everyday protecting her family from everything, playing hard with her family, loving her family and getting love from her family.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Dee Mae Elva

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.