Petlife logo

Cookies and Creme

This is a story about my experience of not judging someone until getting to know them first.

By Toni JosephPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Cookies and Creme
Photo by Milada Vigerova on Unsplash

Cookies and Creme may be a cat but he is different from any other cats in our house. His physical appearance is also different with black spots on his nose and on his head but the one thing that I notice the most is that Cookies and Creme has a big heart-shaped spot on his left side. I admit that at first I did not like the black spot on his nose and tried to get closer to the other cats but those other cats aren't easy to get close to. I eventually found out and realized that he is easier to get along with than those other cats.

Those other cats that I found attractive either hide from me or hissed at me whenever I go near them but not him and by the way those other cats are his brothers and sisters. I first noticed it when he is the only cat (or kitten since he was still small when this happened) that my mother can carry without an act of protest and while she was holding him my mom said, "I think he is easier to approach." And that is when I thought about being more friendly with him.

You may be wondering why I was desperate to pick one of them. Well, it's because a few weeks after they were born my first pet cat died maybe that is why I really want something that would fill the presence of the cat which I lost. Sure I was sad but when Cookies and Creme and I became close it made me happy again. I learned then that appearance isn't everything but personality is something because ever since we became close he follows me around and greets me whenever I get home from work and I can pet him on his head which I have tried once in one of our cats whose only reaction was to hiss on me but not him he loves to be petted. Plus, ever since I realized how sweet he is, my perspective about the black spot on his nose changed and I adore it now too, and find it cute.

I want you to know that the first time that I started getting into loving a pet was actually because of my first cat. Her name was Tiger. I was actually wary about having an animal in the house and don't like them ever since I got bitten by our dog Perry on New Year's Eve. But when Perry died, my mom started accepting cats who would come to our house. We had two cats (one of them is Cookies and Creme's mother) before Tiger came to our house. My mom ignored her at first since we already have two cats but Tiger keeps coming back to our home. That's when my mother decided that she is going to accept Tiger.

I haven't met her at that time since she is only been outside our house and I only stayed inside since it was 2020 and the year of the pandemic which means I have no reason to go outside. But when I thought about going outside our house Tiger immediately ran towards me and rubbed her head on my leg. At first, I was hesitant and just stand on my spot but eventually liked the attention that she is giving me, and as the days go by I enjoyed her company which made me think that maybe cats can also be sweet and I had a fondness for cats ever since.

I guess it also applies to everyone and everything. You can't really judge someone or something based on how it looks or on how you don't like the way it looks. Yes, this lesson may not be a new one but it is true.

featurecat
Like

About the Creator

Toni Joseph

Just a person who loves to write stories about anything that comes to mind. My goal in writing is to give readers some insights about anything especially related to pop culture and some stories that I have thought about and wanted to share.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.