Petlife logo

Come and Play!

A Poem About Friendship, Loss, and Letting Go

By Aaron Waddell - The Everyday MysticPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like
Come and Play!
Photo by Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

Nuzzling his soft, silky fur

With her short, stubby snout

She beckoned:

Come and Play!

The Sun is shining!

Let’s run down the old dusty road

Like we did when we were pups

And feel our hearts beat out of our skin!

Let’s roll in the green, green grass

And soak up the springtime sun

With our satisfied bellies!

Let’s chase chipmunks and squirrels

And all the other things

That good girls and boys do!

Come and play!

Are you coming?

Are

You

Coming?

And then slowly

She pulled back

Stood up

And wandered off in the direction of the setting sun.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Thanks for reading! This poem was inspired by my mother (an accomplished poet herself) in a story she related to me from one of her many walks near my childhood home.

It still brings tears to my eyes every time I think of it.

I hope you are moved in reading as much as I was in writing it!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Hello, I’m Aaron! I write stories and poems about spiritual growth and personal development. I invite you to be a part of my journey of self-discovery and search for truth.

Have a wonderful, blessed day!

Love,

Aaron

P.S. You can also support me by subscribing to my newsletter on substack!

You can see my books, social links and other ways to support me here:

https://bit.ly/pickleball-philosopher

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

“Who is this guy?” Is often asked

By those who see my work

So with my love of poetry

I felt compelled to write in verse

- - - - - - - - - -

Father of two daughters

And a cute quartet of dogs

But thankfully, as of yet

Not a single toad or frog

- - - - - - - - - -

Husband of some 20 years

A lover of Pickleball

But above all else a Child Of God

And loving brother to all

- - - - - - - - - -

A writer of things of spirit and soul

A poet perchance uncouth

A sailor to the call of esoteric lore

A seeker of the truth

- - - - - - - - - -

A fragile and sensitive soul

Creative to a fault

Striving to be a friend and man

Worthy of his salt

- - - - - - - - - -

If fortune was to smile on us

And in good things never lack

Perhaps we could meet one day

Over coffee, hot and black

- - - - - - - - - -

But since that day might never come

(Not knowing how things go)

You may use this link my friend

And offer to me one below!

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Have a day filled with wonderment and Blessed Light!

humanitydog
Like

About the Creator

Aaron Waddell - The Everyday Mystic

Hello dear friend! I'm Aaron - Husband, Father, Writer, Engineer, Poet and Pickleball Junkie.

I write inspirational poems and stories of spiritual growth.

Be a part of my journey of self-discovery and search for truth.

---------

This is Me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.