Petlife logo

Colby

He has the looks that demand respect.

By Anthony WattsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Colby
Photo by Oleg Ivanov on Unsplash

Love thinking about how my Colby is loved and nurtured in his catnip heaven. It seems as if it were just moments ago when I got the call from a specific animal clinic in northwest Indiana to come and pickup my no longer purple kitty. Yes, he was purple just a week prior! His unfortunate pasttime of foraging had him caught in the sights of some very cruel paintballer hunting event.

After he had healing from a broken leg, 2 broken ribs, malnourishment, and lack of love, and the purple paint from those paintball explosions he was coming home with me. I really did not know what to name him as my ex girlfriend and I drove 45 minutes to retrieve him. When I had got there to the clinic/ animal shelter I was in so much of my empathetic emotion from his back story of what they knew and the type of cat he truly was naming him right then and there really illuded me. After hearing his story and seeing him for him and noticing how we had bonded at first sight I had wanted him to act on a name he had liked.

I know that cats do not know English but my Colby could sure fool you by the way he knew the words and sounds of his breakfast and dinner time, his fun time with catnip, his finding the sunny spot to relax time, his middle of the night singing time regardless of my words, the shocked and innocent expression of his eyes when he was excited, those serious looking eyes the matched with a mug on his face when he did not like something or had an empty space in the middle of his eating bowl. My Colby was a full blooded minx and had a naturally bobbed tail but well balanced. He had golden eyes that had matched his gold and white fur coat. It was great because he did not shed much at all even though he had loved to play on my freshly washed laundry.

I named him Colby because he had loved it each time I would eat my grades, eat my cheeses, and work or my book projects.Out of all the cheeses he would taste he had a strong liking to colby cheese. Tasting colby cheese in the middle if the night along with his catnip playtime was his heaven. I provideda safe and healthy environmenton Earth from him in my home.

He enjoyed all my things and showed me by knocking things over when I had left and sitting next to me as I worked on my book projects. My Colby was my best friend although many books say that a dog is a man's best friend. Colby was giant to be a cat, maybe it was on his wet food/ dry food/ plenty of snacks diet. It could have just been his breed as the vet always told me how he was in good health.

Whatever was the case, Colby still remains with me by mind and spirit. If the is a cat heaven I hope it is full of cheeses for him to taste, catnip to keep him dancing, sunnyspots the keep him pampered, and a tiny moving red dot to keep his mentality intrigued. Hmmm... was he just a cat or my Earth angel? It is possible he is an animal guide fashioned to one of my spirit guides.

In ancient Egypt cats are gods bringing with them positive energy.Also ancient Egyptian culture cats were a gate keeper between heaven and hell for the dead. No times they say that the feeling of heaven comes from laying next to a woman but the morning purruing by your head and warm spots left by you pet cat can be annoying until you understand the fact that he is showing you love as best as he/she knows how to. Heaven is passion, love, and a peaceful pleasure. My Colby stayed true to this definition of heaven.

We had a bromance/catmance going on. I now know more of why my relationship had issues...! Well, learn from the past and implement those learned lessons in the present and future.

Thanks Colby. Love you man!

adoption
1

About the Creator

Anthony Watts

Hello, my name is Anthony Watts. I love tl being involved in the vocal community. Thank you all for your inspiration in your works and the needed push for more creativity from myself in growing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.