Petlife logo

Cat: Found.

Adventures of an early-morning runner.

By Hannah Marie. Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

The following is a mostly-true tale of a running experience. There are many people that I notice, even at 6:30 in the morning! I say “mostly true” because I like to imagine the possibilities of a situation, even if I don’t know the outcome or background of certain circumstances.

I wrote this story several weeks back, but would like to share now:

I am running down the last stretch in the road. Five minutes till seven. Just one more mile and I'll have finished for the day. A cat darts in the road just behind a truck that zooms past me. I've learned to be more cautious with vehicles, even with the sun as bright as it is on this lazy late-summer day. I curve my trajectory to aim closer to the side of the road, rather than the six to eight feet of freedom that I prefer. The little cat in front of me doesn't dash across the road like I thought, but sniffs the ground. Oh, he's found some garbage. Gross. Well, I guess outdoor cats grow accustomed to anything. Right as I approach, the cat doesn't dash away like I thought he might. There is a smaller cat, of similar mostly-white and gray mottled coloring, lying on the road. Just a few weeks ago, I found another, who had been dead for a while, the blood pooled around the fuzzy head. This one, on the other hand, was not flat as a pancake, and moved a little bit when I bent down to touch her. I could see the little nipples on her stomach right next to a paw bent at ninety degrees. She blinked her eyes. I scooped her up like a little baby and tried to figure out which of the two closest houses she belonged to. The other cat who had found her hovered nearby, but remained waiting at a safe distance. I chose the house with the garage door slightly open, just like my parents had done with my cats when I was a kid. There was a light on over the door and the porch was crowded with overgrown bushes from the nearby garden. I knocked a couple times, then again, louder, in case I most likely woke up the family. There was an intercom next to the doorbell, and I yelled my name and that I thought that I had found one of their cats. "It's the little white one," I stated, to distinguish from the little gray one that had dashed up the tree as I approached the front porch. "I think that she has broken her paw and needs to go to the vet. She's not moving very much." Nobody answered. I knocked one more time and decided to place her on the sidewalk next to the garage. I didn't want them to run over her if for some very little chance they had not heard me. I tried looking up a phone number for the address but came up short. Then, because the garage was partially opened, I picked up the little one, with the mom or sister cat watching from a safe distance on the other side of the garage. Fortunately there was a mat next to the edge of the opening, which I hoped would keep her body heat in better. At this point, she was not moving her head anymore, though she was still warm. She seemed to be breathing very shallowly.

I decided to knock one more time and hear a window slide open. I yelled, "Hello?" Nobody answered, but a second window slid open next to it. "Do you have a cat? I found your cat, the little white one. I think she got hit by a car." I paused, but still heard no response. I've never gotten that before from an open window with a person on the other side. "I left her in the garage, on a mat. Her left paw is broken. I think she needs to be taken to the vet because she is not moving much. I think she might have internal injuries."

There is still no response from inside, and I consider switching to Spanish, but decide against it; to wait until I hear another voice on the other side of the screen.

Nothing.

Then another window opens, this time on the opposite side of the door. I repeat that I left her just inside the garage and decide it's my turn to bow out gracefully. I give one last look at the open garage, praying that this little one survives. I consider that they do not have money for the vet bill, but jog off, wondering if I could call my own vet and pay for it.

Have you ever had this disruption of your natural and moral sides? What I struggle with sometimes is knowing, even in more complicated situations, how to handle something. Should I base what I do on convenience? On what others expect? On what I want to do? There always is this flow of should…should…should in the back of my mind.

But should I?

cat
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Marie.

Storytelling Through Art.

My goal is to show experiences in a meaningful way through short stories and hand-drawn sketches.

Find me on IG too! @Hannah_Marie._Artwork

—Hannah Marie.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.