Petlife logo

The love-hate relationship of cats.

And Other Pet Subtleties

By Hannah Marie. Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

As I write this, my cat is lost. I haven’t seen him for over a week. I’m hoping he’s just holed up somewhere in someone’s house, cozy and oblivious to the worry that he is subjecting me to. However, I know that in reality he could be on the side of the road or stuck in a chimney. I am not sure if he will come back like nothing happened or if I will never see him again. Times like these remind me that I’m lucky to have a cute, little, fuzzy companion.

Everyone always says they’re a cat person or a dog person. That’s not always true. I am writing this right now while watching my sister and brother-in-law’s adorable dogs, and I own two cats. I’m here to explain that there are wonderful things and cute antics of cats, but the same habit might also drive a cat person crazy


Sleeping during the day

Positive: They look so adorable curled up into a tiny ball or spread out over three feet long from nose to tail. This is the perfect time to take Instagram pictures and to create memes of your cat snoring!

Negative: Whenever you have guests over and you desperately want them to show off their prowess by chasing a string or pouncing on a ball of fluff. Another negative to them sleeping the entire day through is that they are wide awake at night…right when YOU are wanting to sleep (see below).

>>Also, for those who have two cats, not only can they meow at 2:00 in the morning begging to be let outside (even when it’s 15 degrees and blowing winds of 50 miles per hour!), they like to play with each other. Right under your bed.


Sleeping at night

Positive: You find your little furball laying contentedly on its paws, yawning and changing positions, or just generally enjoying the nighttime rest.

Negative: In the midst of your wonderful dream, your feline will step on you: One. Paw. At. A. Time. Then, if they are like my oldest cat, they will stand on top of your hip or leg until you wake up and push them off or get up to give them more water.


Play

Positive: Entertainment no matter what time of day!

Negative: Entertainment no matter what time of day.


Outdoors

Positive: It allows them to roam and be free, to explore new things that peak their curiosity (hey, look! A rhyme). They just seem to be more in their element out in the wild…unless it’s 100 degrees outside. Or 32 degrees….

Negative: …or if there’s wind. Or rain. Pretty much any change in weather and until they get used to it, they are hopeless. They can get lost, taken, or hit by cars. One of the cats I had growing up died from injesting rat poison.


Work Day

Positive: They get to sleep all day and they pretty much take care of themselves. Especially if you invest in an automatic feeder, which I have! Short trips aren’t out of the question either.

Negative: They have the run of the house and need to be well entertained or they will entertain themselves. My bed boxsprings have seen better days and there is always So. Much. Fur!

Inspiration

Positive: As you might be able to tell from my blog, I like to draw and these cats provide endless fodder for my imagination. They have weaseled their way into stories, sketches, and photos, pausing in time to help me remembering a particular moment over again.

Positive! Just when you think you have them figured out, they try something new and make us dumbfounded once again. Just goes to prove that cats are smart creatures!

Conclusion: While it can be crazy and hectic, having a cat might disturb your routine and “normal” life, but it is COMPLETELY worth it…until you receive a dead animal on your front porch as grateful, “I love you so much I just want to purr my insides out” gift!

cat
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Marie.

Storytelling Through Art.

My goal is to show experiences in a meaningful way through short stories and hand-drawn sketches.

Find me on IG too! @Hannah_Marie._Artwork

—Hannah Marie.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.