Petlife logo

Bionic Boy & The Neighbourhood Strays

No house parties

By Lana JaynePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Boy

Rested upon the window seat I browsed the latest newspaper. 'Nobody is safe!' Read the headline on the front cover.

Inside provided article after article that delivered bad news after unpleasant news, terrible news followed by dreadful news and for a second, I cast my eye beyond the uncertainty to my garden.

Gazing out into the external world, just in time to witnesses an occurrence most peculiar. One of the neighbor's cats, bold as brass, came tearing down the garden path and leapt onto the outer window sill. Curiously, just for a moment, he almost looked surprised to see me residing in my own house.

Confidently postured, Ricardo his name, he remained as if awaiting some kind of appointment or prior engagement. Eventually, to my surprise, he was greeted by my cat. A gloriously handsome all-black feline with one bionic leg. Boy graced Ricardo's presence at the window. There was a timely exchange of sniffs and head bobbing before Ricardo exited the vicinity of the home.

There was a reason this event was so out of the ordinary. The reason being that not even an hour passed before another one of the neighbourhood cats appeared on my window sill. Salem was welcomed with the same greeting from Boy that Ricardo had before him. A brief encounter with minor communication, exchanged through the window, before a swift exit from Salem.

I remembered talking to an older lady who lived on the same street some time ago. I recalled her asking what my cats were called. Bizarre I thought... “Boy is his name, I have just the one cat though” I replied. She seemed quite convinced that she had seen two cats. Shrugging my shoulder I laughed. Not wanting to be rude, I suggested and joked that maybe my cat had a house party whilst I was at work.

I started to contemplate the idea of Boy admitting other cats in the house. Pondering the idea made myself snicker. Of course he doesn't. I mean there's absolutely no way he could sneak them in. He wouldn't be able to pull off such a task without leaving any evidence... Could he? No... And what would they even come in for? Boy's food is tucked away in a cupboard and last time I checked he doesn't have any thumbs! No, he definitely couldn't. He's a house cat and although we have a cat flap it's completely sealed with tape.

Boy wasn't always a house cat... A few years ago he arrived home late one night, dragging both back legs behind him in tremendous discomfort. To this day we are unaware of what caused the accident, but we do know that he must have undergone a horrific ordeal. The injuries he sustained were so terrible that he nearly lost a leg entirely. The veterinary surgeons managed to preserve his limb however a large part of it is now metal.

I discovered something else unusual in the days after the strange cat gatherings. Something that prompted the decision to place a hidden camera in the house. A tiny pile of cat biscuits, delicate and neatly accumulated behind the wooden TV stand. What on earth is going on here? I marvelled.

That was it, I was going to find out.

Set up in a busy corner of the living room, a small recording camera that transmitted directly to my phone. Determined to discover Boys activities when left alone and to get to the bottom of the strange happenings, everything was set to catch the pesky feline red pawed.

Day 1

On the first day of recording, we uncovered the secret to the mysterious hidden biscuits. After being out for the best part of the day we decided to check in on Boy and see what he had been up to. We discovered that he was individually taking biscuits delicately out of his bowl and transporting them to his hidden pile.

Day 2

Day two saw more of the same behaviour from Boy but nothing else seemed to be out of the ordinary.

Day 3

By the third day, we discovered exactly what was transpiring when Boy had the house to himself. He had spent all morning loitering by the window until it happened. Salem. Salem arrived just in shot of the camera before disappearing so he couldn't be seen.

Boy leaps down from the window and proceeds to the door where the 'sealed' cat flap is mounted. To my awe and disbelief, he commences the cautious, delicate procedure, that is gently peeling the tape off with his teeth.

Once finished, it is clear to see that Salem had been patiently waiting for the entrance to be opened, as he strolls in after Boy has unsealed the passageway. Salem is shown to the stash of biscuits like a guest in a restaurant and after dining they cuddle up together in the sun. Salem doesn't stay long, a matter of hours before he exits the way he came in.

The most shocking part to the feline play date was that Boy even brushed back up to the tape after Salem departed. It seems he doesn't let just any cat in, but rather they must have a reservation to get into the prestigious venue that is my house!

My imagination ran away with me trying to comprehend the reason Boy lets these cats into his home. Not only letting them into his home but going through the effort of concealing food for them. Sneaking them in and making sure not to arouse my suspicion.

Perhaps these cats played a part in helping boy get back home when he suffered his injury. Maybe He thinks all outdoor cats are homeless and Salem and Ricardo are just taking advantage of his good nature.

Possibly he just enjoys the company.

Regardless, what I do know, is that Boy never uses this sneaky technique to escape, and that must mean he is happy at home.

So, If spending time with the neighbourhood cats makes him happy, I will never let on that I know. Instead, I will smile when I return home, knowing exactly what that Boy has been up to.

satire
Like

About the Creator

Lana Jayne

My name is Lana.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.