Petlife logo

Big Ears Matter!!!

How I Received Emotional Support...

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2

When my daughter messaged me on Facebook and asked,

“Do you want a chihuahua?”

My first reaction was to type, “Oh hell no!”

I wasn’t a real fan of chihuahuas because I heard they had really prissy, mean reputations.

My last dog, Bailey, was a big ol’ sweetheart of a Golden Retriever. It tore my little heart up when he died because I thought I failed him as a human.

I didn’t know Bailey had cancer.

Back in 2012, I had a brain aneurysm rupture and one of the residual side effects was that the hippocampus (emotional center) of my brain has permanent damage. I have been diagnosed with Major Depression so yeah, Bailey dying on me was rough.

So, I didn’t want another dog and a chihuahua-yet?

But then my phone screen filled up with that little face above.

Right?!

How in the entire hell am I supposed to say no to that face?

AND THOSE EARS WERE EVERYTHING!!!

So, the barrage of messages went back and forth for a minute, and to be honest with you, I am almost one hundred percent that the picture above was NOT the pic my daughter sent me, but it’s the first pic I have of her.

And I almost didn’t get to keep her, and I tell her this story at least once a month.

Yes, the dog.

Yes, I tell her stories, shut UP!!!

LOL…anyway

#WhatHadHappenedWas after I saw her face, I immediately started asking fielding questions to find out why this doggie was available.

The story was the family either just had a baby or the mother was pregnant, and now no one has time to take care of the puppy.

So yes, I want the dog and not to sound like Veruca Salt from “Charlie & The Chocolate Factory”, but, I want it now!!!

But I had to wait, not because the dog was too young or that there was anything wrong with the dog’s health, no

But the lady owner of the dog changed her mind.

I was devastated!!!

I cried for the puppy.

In the first place, I thought it was cruel to want to get rid of a dog because you didn’t want the mess. I felt for the doggie. Poor thing.

Then I cried for me.

I had already made a wish list on Amazon for all of the little supplies she was going to need. I even thought about buying one of those little doggie purses to carry her around in.

Anyone who knows me knows, there is nothing frilly or bougie about me, so the thought that I actually considered carrying around a dog in a purse, is hysterical.

I know!!!

But I was disappointed , sad, and all by myself.

I mean I wasn’t totally living alone; I had my son’s cat-Nino.

But Nino was not an affectionate cat and he escaped my apartment frequently gallivanting around for days only to saunter back home smellin like someone’s else’s house & whoredom….lol.

And he didn’t snuggle.

It took me a day or two accompanied by a Facebook rant about how stupid, selfish people shouldn’t be allowed to own animals let alone breed and create more cruel people to eventually stop being sad.

Later on that week, I was experiencing a really bad migraine, yet woke up to knocking on my back patio door. I shuffled to the door, moved the blinds and saw this face:

She didn’t look that happy at first; her ears stayed down and back like she was wearin an old- fashioned, Goody, plastic headband.

She trembled & flinched constantly.

I immediately started Googling to see what I could do to make her feel better while I was going through her paperwork, I noticed it said her name was “Treat-Treat” . I giggled but thought, "Oh no, that's gotta be a typo, lol"

But then, I figured the owner’s children gave her that name because it was the only way the dog would come to them was if she were bribed with treats, lol.

I hated the damn name, lol, but if the doggie was used to it, I wasn’t gonna change her name and further confuse & disrupt her little life.

So, since I was told she was a chihuahua, I started calling her Cheechie.

Then on her first vet visit, Doc said he would bet the farm that Cheechie wasn’t a chihuahua but actually a miniature pinscher.

That’s when she started getting the nicknames---don’t ask, I’m not sure why, lol.

Cheech

Cheechie Mama

Cheech Money

Cheechie mama peninsula doggie.

But Cheechie responds to every one of those names, even when I sing them to her, lol.

And she snuggles.

She’s a certified Emotional Support Dog after all.

dog
2

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.