Petlife logo

Bella Was Quite The Fella!

I had never seen such a well-trained dog before our Bella!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
4
Bella in his bunny ears. He is looking a bit humiliated although he is a good sport!

We had Bella for many years and loved every minute of our time together. Bella came to us when his family couldn’t have him anymore, as he had gotten run over by a car and wouldn’t stop chasing more.

That wasn’t the Bella we had at our house for years. I dreaded having to tell the kids and bring them to tears that Bella was a bad fella and was run over! But not our Bella!

He stayed in the yard, he was our guard!

It helps that we live in the country with lots and lots of running space! He would hang out with hubby all day long, riding along on the 4-wheeler or running alongside.

Every once in a while he would take a couple of days off and just before we would take him to the vet, he would rebound. We thought it was due to his getting into something he shouldn’t have.

Then he was back to normal. Running and playing all day. The country was such a much better place for him. I never wanted a dog in town or in the city. Cats can spend their day in the house easier than dogs.

I am allergic to cats and dogs now, I don’t know about hogs or frogs but I avoid animals as much as I can as in spite of taking allergy medication each day, when exposed to dogs, I get itchy ears and an upset stomach.

I could watch Bella from a distance and he learned the first time not to touch me, or come too close. He got plenty of attention from his host. Bella belonged to hubby’s daughter first and he was asked to take him after the accident and his chasing cars down the alley.

Hubby has trouble saying no to the girls especially.

Bella wouldn’t step on the carpet in our house as the hubby trained him to not do that. He said, “He picks up something the first time around. No need to repeat.”

He wouldn’t leave the tile, our pet!

One of the grandchildren knew that and would tease. Even when Bella would bark and I would say please don’t tease! Bella is a good dog! He would roughhouse with Bella and play leapfrog, then run into the carpeted rooms, where Bella wouldn’t go.

One of the granddaughters had him on her 4-wheeler and they drove by accident down a steep hill. Bella barked to get hubby’s attention and to prevent any spill.

Bella was the best with guests. It was like she knew the good-hearted people the best. She could be ferocious and I almost never saw that. Thank goodness we live in God’s country, and when the in-laws spout that I take off my hat.

There are many dogs in our neighborhood. The neighbor up the hill has 3 or 4. The neighbor across the field has a couple too. It is probably best to keep the wild critters away. I don’t think we will need any more dogs though!

Bella would go to the bathroom in the field. He never went poo on the lawn! I really could go on and on! Well, I guess maybe I have, and maybe I could put it to song!

Bella, what a fella

The very best friend that Bella

He came to us as a she

We quickly discovered she was a he

The best dog a woman could ever want today

Minding his own business almost every day

We believe Bella died from an old injury

No replacing man’s best friend I say!

The cause of death is still out with the jury!

dog
4

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    What a lovely account! It feels like I knew him too. Thank you so much for sharing! That's one special sweetie!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous!!! Left some love💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.