Petlife logo

Be more like Hem

- that cat gives no f#%@&

By Ange D'entremontPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1
Be more like Hem- that cat gives no f#%@&

When the fortune cookie said months ago that there would be "Great money coming my way" this year, to say I was skeptical, would be an understatement!! As I stare out the window, I pull out my black notebook; the shock still fresh, that I won $20,000!? That is the type of thing that happens to other people. Not to me. My luck usually consists of things like smashing the screen on my 2-day old cell phone (while waiting for my new phone case to arrive) or having someone rear end my 1-month-old SUV. Or working in the travel industry during the breakout of a Global Pandemic-one that inflicted a worldwide travel ban and forced the entire world into lockdown!!

It changed the world and the year (2020), is one that many will not forget! Makes one miss the simpler days, like growing up in the 90’s… the days of Clueless, Fresh Prince of Bell Aire, and taping music off the radio (hoping the announcer wouldn’t talk or cut-off the last bit of the song) listening to it on our Walkman’s!

This year was particularly bad for my hometown province of Nova Scotia. Besides the COVID-19 virus, our small little province also experienced a mass-shooting (22 fatal victims), which is completely out of character for this area-this is not NYC or something!? The entire province mourned- with a population of less than 1 million people- there was not a single person unaffected. Then to help with moral, after all the negativity, Canada’s Iconic ‘Snowbirds’, flew across the country; I was even, able to see them fly over my condo! But then, in the true nature of the horrific year, the last day of the Snowbirds cross Canada journey- one of the planes suffered a horrible crash. Resulting in yet another death! Oh, and did I mention, the military helicopter crash, that took the lives of 6 more Canadians, in Greece. The year that seemed to be never-ending in tragedy!

One of the only things keeping me sane, stuck at home this past year, (my career on hold) is my notebook, which I post entries to daily. Id like to say the entries were exciting and full of juicy details, but sadly that is not the case! The journal was an idea suggested by my work counsellor, as a tool to reduce stress and anxiety. They said to write three things in it everyday that I was grateful for. My first thoughts were what a foolish idea and waste of time (and I was not even sure if I could even come up with three things a day!!!) It did take some time to get used to, and I am surprising myself by saying this; but it actually helps!

Today's journal entry is the most exciting one to date- the news of my contest win!! What to do with $20,000!? Take a trip/build a house/shopping spree?? My mind keeps trying to convince me, that it is some sort of scam.... who gives that kind of $ out for a pet contest? My thoughts go to “Someone is trying to take advantage of all of us supposed 'crazy cat ladies' out there!?” Exploiting us and our love for our pets!

It all started months ago (the day after talking to my counsellor) when I went to get the mail. I walked out of my condo unit, and as usual, my cat Hemmy took the opportunity to run out into the hallway of our building. I found him sniffing a little black notebook on the floor. My first thought was that the crazy old lady down the hall (the one that talks to herself and is always trying to get us to “follow god”) dropped one of her bibles. I picked up the notebook and assumed someone must be looking for it. It was not one of the cheap-looking ones, that come from the Dollar Store or somewhere; it was a nice brand-new black Moleskin book!! (And sort of perfect for a so-called ‘gratitude’ journal.) I half-ass attempted to locate the owner (though selfishly wanting to keep it). After a week, it became obvious that no one in our building was going to claim the book so I opened it up and looked at the blank pages-not even used yet. So where did the mysterious notebook come from!? The only writing in the book was on a sticky note on the first page, which written in sloppy writing was a website for a contest- ‘America’s Favorite Pet’.

Could my cat be the prime contestant? Of course, I thought so!! He is handsome and has extra toes; so, he has mitten paws! So, what, that he is a complete a**hole, who will not let even a vet touch him!? (The vet suggested that we drug him for future appointments.) In reality, we should probably all strive to he as self-assured and confident as he is! He sleeps 95% of the time and the rest of the time he just lazes around not giving one f$#@! Never worrying what anyone thinks of him (not even when he broke his Dad’s brand-new guitar right in two.)

I may have been a bit biased, but I entered my cat in the contest anyways. What could it harm!? A few months went by and I forgot about it completely; just being caught up in life's daily trivialities. Like we all do sometimes. I was feeling down some days, feeling depressed and a little scared about the uncertainty of the future. Each day though, writing out what I was grateful for in my little black book even the smallest of events some days. (Food a lot of the time.) Whatever I could come up with. But just having the comfort of my writing everyday, gave me something force my mind, to think about the positive aspects of life.

Then a week ago I received a call. My first thought being could they not have just texted this!? I answered though, not sure who to expect on the other end. Bill collector, wrong phone number? People who know me, know to text, but I answered the phone, with a bit of hesitation- and almost hung right back up. We have all gotten the phoney calls that you won this or won that... So, when I heard the bells and whistling on the other end of the phone, I assumed it was another fake call, getting my hopes up. They said I won the America's favorite cat contest, and could I provide my contact information so I could receive the prize- $20,000. I had to sit down. For a minute, my mind tried to process what I was hearing. Could this still be a scam, I wondered!? I got off the phone not sure what to think, but then also knowing if the contest was legit- my cat (who's also a bit of an Instagram star) definitely had what it takes to win that contest.

As I write in my little black book today, I am also staring at the balance in my bank account, after receiving the wire transfer with my prize of $20,000. I am still in shock but also have something I am incredibly grateful for, to write about in my gratitude journal today. This entire experience has left me feeling like maybe the uncertainty of the future is not something to be so anxious about... We probably all should live a bit more like cats do and not worry about the future so much, expectations of ourselves, and just be confident in our own existence. Maybe we all have amazing, positive experiences awaiting us and endless possibilities. I don’t know but I will continue to keep writing in my notebook each day. Maybe in the end, that is one of the greatest treasures of all. The memories we have and get to keep of the people, places, experiences (and pets) special to us-the little things!

literature
1

About the Creator

Ange D'entremont

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.