Petlife logo

bad day my dog

The Day My Dog Turned My World Upside Down

By Dilip gurjarPublished about a year ago 3 min read

It was a sunny Saturday morning, and I had planned to spend the day at the beach with my dog, Max. We had everything packed up and ready to go, but as soon as we stepped out of the house, things started to go wrong.

First, Max refused to get into the car. I tried everything I could think of to coax him into the back seat, but he stubbornly sat on the ground, his tail tucked between his legs. Finally, I had to pick him up and carry him to the car, which was not an easy task, considering he weighed almost 60 pounds.

Once we were on the road, I noticed that Max was acting strange. He was panting heavily and drooling, even though the car was air-conditioned. I pulled over to check on him and saw that his eyes were bloodshot and his gums were pale. I knew something was wrong, but I didn't know what to do.

I decided to take Max to the vet, which meant canceling our beach trip. I felt disappointed, but I knew Max's health was more important. When we arrived at the vet's office, Max was trembling and seemed afraid. I tried to comfort him, but he was too anxious to listen.

The vet examined Max and told me that he had eaten something toxic. I was shocked. I had no idea what Max could have ingested, but the vet suspected it was something he had found outside. He gave Max some medication and told me to keep an eye on him for the next few hours.

I took Max home and tried to make him comfortable. He lay down on his bed and closed his eyes, but I could tell he was still in pain. I felt helpless and worried, and I couldn't stop thinking about what could have happened if I hadn't noticed something was wrong.

As the day went on, Max's condition worsened. He started vomiting and having diarrhea, and he refused to eat or drink anything. I called the vet again, and he told me to bring Max back to the office immediately.

At the vet's office, Max was hooked up to an IV and given more medication. The vet told me that Max was severely dehydrated and that he needed to stay at the clinic overnight. I was devastated. I had never been away from Max for more than a few hours, and the thought of leaving him at the clinic was unbearable.

The next 24 hours were the longest of my life. I couldn't focus on anything else but Max. I called the clinic every few hours to check on him, and the vet reassured me that he was stable but still not out of the woods.

Finally, the next day, the vet gave me the good news that Max was doing much better. He had started eating and drinking again, and his vital signs were stable. I rushed to the clinic to pick him up, and as soon as I saw him, I burst into tears of relief.

The vet explained to me that Max had most likely ingested rat poison, which was commonly used in the area where we lived. He warned me to be extra careful when walking Max outside and to always keep him on a leash.

That day changed everything for me. I realized how much I loved Max and how vulnerable he was. I also realized that I needed to be more responsible as a pet owner and to pay closer attention to Max's health and behavior.

From that day on, I made sure to keep Max safe and healthy. I always kept an eye on him when we went outside, and I made sure to give him plenty of water and healthy food. Max and I became closer than ever, and I cherished every moment we spent together.

Looking back,

dog

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    DGWritten by Dilip gurjar

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.