Petlife logo

All suffering will be equal.

Oh, the agony!

By Jordan ZunigaPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

How does one endure the politics of the barnyard?

The constant dealing with other gander, to the vexation of the squeal of the swine waddling in the filth of the mud. The sheep complaining over the oppression from the sheepdog doing their “Tender,” shepherds bidding, to the vexation of the roosters' call at some ridiculous hour in the morning. Oh, if only there was some way to deal with the barnyard shenanigans! Oh, woe to us! Many could relate, I’m sure!

I hated the constant bickering that took place on the farm. Yesterday, Gary the goose continued his constant honking about how the children never showed her proper respect at her side of the river, and Peggy pig squealed about how her piglets wouldn’t stop hounding her. “They eat like piggies, and they’re constantly hounding me!” She cried. “Well, that sounds about right! Their pigs!” I replied with a snarky sort of sarcasm.

I waddled my away as the dawn arose and the rooster gripped loudly. “OH, WILL YOU SHUT UP! YES, IT’S MORNING! WE GET IT! THE SUN IS OUT AND THE DAY IS HERE! BUT THERE ARE SOME BARNYARD ANIMALS THAT ARE TRYING TO SLEEP, YOU DULT!” Wilbur the donkey cried out. “Oh, you stubborn thing! Can’t you see I am simply doing my daily routine? This is my job!” Ricky the rooster replied. “Well, I am entitled to a decent night's sleep! I deserve my beauty rest!” Wilbur neighed obnoxiously. I continued quacking as I ventured into the barnyard while looking at Wilbur. “Wilbur is the living epitome of a bureaucratic jackass!” I thought to myself.

I flapped the rest of the way into the barnyard as I saw Carry the cow constantly mooing in pain. “Why? Why do I have such sores on the under parts of my belly! Oh, moooooo!” Carry gripped relentlessly. Quack, quack, quack. I quaked my way towards the center of the barnyard while the sheep baaaed her way in with the other sheep. “That, baaaaah, sheepdog has been attacking my footsies! It hurts! BAAAAH! It hurts!” Susy the sheep complained.

My mind couldn’t take it. The constant whining, the constant complaining, about every, single, little, THING! “Hey Darcy the duck! How are you today?” A voice asked behind me. “WHY ARE YOU COMING AT ME WITH ALL YOUR PROBLEMS? LEAVE ME ALONE!” I screamed. The chicken just stared at me. “Oh. Cory the chicken. Sorry about that. I, uh, have heard too much complaining today,” I replied. “Well, that sounds like a lot of people, Darcy! No need to get upset over it!” Cory replied. I sighed.

“ALRIGHT! WE NEED TO TALK! I’M ENTITLED TO A GOOD NIGHT'S SLEEP AND WE NEED TO DISCUSS THIS SITUATION!” Wilbur complained as he walked in. I was vexxed. “You eat the best of the farmers' oats, you walk around a gated community with the best view of the countryside, and yet you think you’re entitled to a good night's sleep too? What, are you going to play the victim of sleep deprivation?” I harshly criticized.

Wilbur’s eyes become shrewd. “Did you just criticize my beauty rest? No one can criticize me on my beauty rest! I’m entitled to a decent night's sleep! I have an idea! We are a diverse community of different barnyard animals. Some in this barnyard need to be more sensitive towards the sufferings of others! I think we should all tie a heavy rock equal to our size around our heels, so we can understand what suffering is and be aware of our own advantages on the barnyard! Some of us need to be more open minded towards the sufferings of others! You all need to be more open minded! We should all suffer equally!” Wilbur declared.

I scoffed. “That’s ridiculous! I’m not the one complaining about a bad night's sleep while I have the best of everything the farm has to offer! I’m not dealing with this!” I declared. “So you’re not open minded? Fine! You’re clearly narrow-minded and insensitive towards others! Who else wants to participate so they don’t show narrow-mindedness! Manny! Where are you!” Wilbur declared. “Right here, sir!” Manny the monkey responded. “Take strings, tie them around rocks, and tie them on the other animals. Then we can teach these privileged animals to show respect! And if any choose to take it off, let them be shamed in front of the other animals. The other barnyard animals reluctantly agreed. “Oh, great! The roaming, flying monkey is going to report to the narcissistic donkey of everyone who doesn’t comply!” I grumbled. This was clearly going to be a long day.

“I, can’t, move!” Gary the Goose cried out! I looked as all the barnyard animals were suffering from the rocks attached to their legs. My heart grieved for them, as I continued to stroll across the farm. “I, can only, lay here,” Peggy Pig whined. A tear flowed down my eye, as I couldn’t take it much longer. “Why are they so afraid? Why don’t they just take off the collar and let themselves be called narrow minded? I don’t understand what the big deal is?” I thought to myself. A thought came to me. “Wilbur! I’ll go convince Wilbur to put an end to this nonsense!” I decided.

I waddled and quacked my way over to Wilbur’s part of the farm. My eyes then saw it. The rage waddled up in my heart, from the sight of such an atrocious act!

I bore witness... To the truth.

Wilbur was sleeping on the best portion of land exactly as I had said, but he had no rock tied to his leg! “This is outrageous! Wilbur is preaching to the others that we should bear the sufferings of others equally, but isn’t even doing it himself? This is ridiculous! WILBUR, YOU’RE A FRAUD! YOU TELL US THAT IF WE DON’T WEAR A ROCK TIED TO YOUR LEG THAT WE’RE NARROWMINDED? WHAT DOES THIS MAKE YOU THEN, HUH?” I viciously accused Wilbur as I flew to tell the others.

I landed on the ground and immediately started calling out. “EVERYONE! LISTEN TO ME! WILBUR IS SLEEPING NEAR THE BEST PORTION OF LAND, WITHOUT A ROCK TIED TO HIS LEG, AND YET HE’S TELLING US WE NEED TO SHARE IN THE SUFFERINGS OF OTHERS! I SAY WE PLACE BACK WHAT HE’S PUT ON US, ON HIM, AND WE END THIS NONSENSE FOR GOOD!” I quacked out loud.

The sound of outrage arose from the other animals on the farm, as they started to rip their strings off, and went in Wilbur's direction. I sighed. “This is ridiculous! That politically bureaucratic jackass did all this so he could con us of our time for a few extra hours of sleep! How petty is that?” I thought outloud. I released a prolonged sigh.

“I hate politics. It literally ruins everything,” I muttered under my breath.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my content. If you like my work, then please give my pieces on here and my pieces on Instagram a like, follow me here and on Instagram @cccreativewriter, then read and rate my work on Inkitt so I can potentially receive a publishing contract, and consider donating to my support my efforts! Also, if you enjoy my work and want to help grow the ministry, please show your support by leaving a donation here on vocal if you want to support my work! With every donation or piece you read, you can help grow my ministry! Keep your head held high, and smile! ;)

https://www.instagram.com/cccreativewriter/

https://www.inkitt.com/stories/fantasy/610198/chapters/4

https://vocal.media/geeks/a-new-adventure-rbbdt50ec0

https://vocal.media/criminal/the-treading-of-the-winepress

https://vocal.media/poets/through-it-all-and-despite-it-all

https://vocal.media/poets/refined-and-approved

https://vocal.media/poets/regardless-of-what-i-will-still

https://vocal.media/fiction/what-was-what-is-and-what-is-yet-to-be

satire
Like

About the Creator

Jordan Zuniga

Aspiring christian creative writer creating pieces to provoke thought and give God and Lord Jesus Christ the glory! God bless and I hope you’re doing well!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.