Petlife logo

A rabbit named tequila

How animals became a member of our family.

By Shivam JhaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
A rabbit named tequila
Photo by Hossam M. Omar on Unsplash

The day was August 20, A summer afternoon, and my dad and I went to the market to buy some furniture for our new home. It was a long drive of 50 km, in the midst of the sun, and we stopped at a restaurant for lunch once we had selected some furniture. The table was a window-side table. As we were waiting for our orders, I noticed a white rabbit with red eyes staring at me, and I realized I wanted that rabbit in my home, the main problem was that my parents didn't want to buy a pet, I decided to give it a shot.

I asked my father if we could buy a dog and he said no your mother wouldn't allow it because if the dog bites someone who will be blamed and such things, My response was no predator but what about a prey we can keep it as a member of our family. He was then insistent on finishing our job what we had come for, then we will think about it late, he paid the bill and when we just left the restaurant he saw the pet shop looked at me, smiled and said so you want a rabbit right, I simply smiled and we went to the pet shop.

Among the animals were rabbits, pigeons, parrots, and many other colorful birds but I already knew what I wanted, so I asked the shopkeeper how old the rabbit was. He replied in a worthless tone that the rabbit was only 10 days old and rs300, at that moment I wanted to break down his teeth.

Since my dad is very polite he said OK sir we will take it no worries about the price but, I also want a pair for him then I chose another Grey color rabbit because one should always buy Rabbits in pairs because they feel very secure. I took him in my hand and he was like a small soft cotton cushion, after taking them both we left the shop and took them to our home in a small cage I was very excited to make a new home & playing with them as well. I knew that my sister would love to see the rabbit.

After coming back to the home I did the full research about rabbits what they like what they don’t like what are their taste and preferences, their schedules, what they eat and about their behaviors.

My first step was to keep them in a big carton in my house then after 3 days , when their home was ready, I moved them there and we were looking for names until 2 weeks later. then I came up with 2 awesome names for them I named the white one tequila and the Grey one whiskey, everyone in my family likes the names.

The most favorite food of rabbits are Lettuces, romaine, green leaf, red leaf, grass &hay. And as a snack, I usually feed them with a bite of banana or apple. The rabbit should never be fed any homemade food or anything like that as it could be harmful to them and most of the time they just drink freshwater and not any juice or acidic drinks. they never takes bath they are usually very clean animals they lick themself to clean their bod, It took me 3 weeks for their potty training at the beginning they used to poop everywhere in the home sometimes they eat their own poop but it's okay don’t be afraid of that.

Early in the morning, my grandfather takes them outside to feed them hay from our small garden at 4 am. I used to take them to the terrace during the evening because whiskey loves watching the sunset. Tequila is very calm and casual, but Whiskey is quite enthusiastic, he always finds a way to escape the house, and many times we were afraid someone might have killed him, but in the end, he was outside eating fresh hay.

Let me tell you the funniest thing you might be thinking it has been a year then why isn’t they gave birth to any babies because shopkeeper tricked us he gave us both the male rabbits, we had lack of knowledge about them at that time but I was still happy.

Other kids from my neighbors used to visit my home every day to see whiskey and tequila, many times even cats tried to attack them but we saved them every time and now they are our family members next month we will be celebrating the birthday of both of them as they are two small kids of our family.

Until one has loved an animal, a part of one's soul remains unawakened.

rabbit
1

About the Creator

Shivam Jha

A writer who knows something about everything.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.