Petlife logo

A not complete guide of how to care for your piggies!

the story of how two girls got their furry potatoes

By Jay CorderoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Most people think that furry potatoes are just like couch potatoes; they don’t do much. People believe that guinea pigs just live their lives eating vegetables and hay, pooping, and napping. In reality, people are right to think that these adorable furry potatoes don’t do much. However, they’re cute as fuck, and that makes up for everything else.

In September of 2019, my sister and I decided to adopt two furry potatoes, also known as guinea pigs. I’m not going to lie; at first, I wasn’t one hundred percent on board with the idea. Of course, I liked the idea of adopting a pet. Who doesn’t? You get to save an animal and give it a forever home that is loving and is in better conditions than a shelter. I loved that idea. However, when I thought about the logistics of taking care of another living thing, not to mention two other living things, it was secretly terrifying. I thought about the vet cost and the initial cost of the adoption, plus the essentials they would need to live with us. At the moment, I didn’t have a job, and I didn’t feel prepared to be financially responsible for someone else.

Sammy and Kody posing for the camera!

I tried talking to my sister about these concerns. I told her how I didn’t feel prepared to have a pet. Needless to say, my sister just told me, “I don’t care what you think; we’re getting guinea pigs.” And she went ahead with the adoption process. She went as far as going all the way to bumblefuck Brooklyn (we live deep in the Bronx) to adopt our guinea pigs, Sammy and Kody, from a shelter.

Of course, I fell in love with my furry potatoes as soon as they arrived at my house. At first, they were these shy little things who wouldn’t leave a corner of their cage. As time went by, I loved my potatoes more and more. With time they also become more comfortable and started feeling at home. I remember the first time I picked one of my guinea pigs and watched him get comfortable in my lap as if saying, “I want to cuddle with you, pig mum.”

Kody begging for food in the morning

Now my furry babies even have a routine. In the mornings, between 7 AM and 9 AM, they make a high pitch noise called wheeking. This noise signifies that they’re excited for one reason or the other. When my guinea pigs wheek it is because they know it’s time for breakfast, they never fail to remind us.

Both of our guinea pigs have very distinct personalities. That’s something people don’t know about guinea pigs; they’re very sociable and have particular personalities and tastes that are unique to them. For example, my guinea pig Kody loves bananas and strawberries. However, Sammy won’t even go near those fruits; instead, he prefers apples and grapes. While Kody loves to run around his cage and explore new surroundings, Sammy likes to stay put and cuddle in a lap.

Sammy and me hanging out. He walked from my stomach to my chest

Guinea pigs are not easy animals to take care of. Many people assume they’re a beginner’s or children’s pet. But they require a lot of care. I am thoroughly thankful for my sister’s diligence when it came to researching the wants and needs of guinea pigs. Guinea pigs are prey animals and therefore are good at hiding their illness because otherwise, they would get left behind by their herd. This guinea pig trait makes it so that guinea pig pet parents have to be highly vigilant of their guinea pigs if they want their fur potatoes to have long, healthy lives.

All in all, I’m glad to have my furry potatoes in my life. Thanks to them, I have a tremendous amount of knowledge about guinea pigs, which is nice to flex from time to time. I love them dearly, and I know in their tiny hearts they feel the same.

Below, you can find videos of my fur babies enjoying one of their favorite snacks!

adoption
Like

About the Creator

Jay Cordero

Hello!

Ever since I was little I loved stories; they made me feel connected to something bigger than myself. This is why I am working towards becoming a writer. I want to be able to replicate the bliss I feel when reading for my readers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.