Petlife logo

A Girl's Favorite Companion

You never forget your best friend

By Lauren GubitosiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Girl's Favorite Companion
Photo by Adam Griffith on Unsplash

I have always been a believer in celebrating life, and joyfully remembering those who were once a part of it. A little over a month ago now, I had to say goodbye to my best friend since I was 12 years old. My sweet, crazy, angel of a dog, Buster. While there is definitely still a piece of my heart missing, I want to share with the world the joy, love, and comfort that Buster provided me with for all of these years.

The very first day Buster joined our family in 2009

Buster was, and probably still is to be honest, the center of my world. It didn't matter what stage of my life I was in, Buster was always right there beside me. My family and I viewed Buster as the youngest member of our small, but mighty, family. Every event that we had, Buster would most certainly be there, most of the time with his own seat at the table!

It's hard to explain just how strong the bond between the two of us was. Buster saw me through every single good day for 14 years, with a happy little tail wagging waiting to greet me every day I came back home. But more importantly, Buster was the reason I got through some of the hardest days in my life. It was almost as if he could sense when I was sad or upset. He would come running up to my room and barging through the door just to sit next to me. I've told my deepest fears and secrets to this dog, and I know he obviously couldn't acknowledge me or speak back. But I knew he really cared. There is not a single person in this world, who I would want to hold these stories for me.

I have dedicated a countless number of Instagram posts, Tweets, and even TikToks (not to mention a very large amount of space in my photos app) to this lovable little monster I call my best friend. Buster even had his own Instagram account!

I still wake up some days listening for the little pitter patter of his paws running to my room, or looking around the corner to see him peacefully asleep. I know that the love I have for Buster will never go away, and there will always be a little piece of me missing without him. I honestly feel grateful that Buster was placed into my life at exactly the right time. He will certainly always be missed, and never be forgotten. Because you never really can forget your childhood best friend.

I'd like to leave you with a quote that brought a great deal of comfort to myself and to my mom right after Buster's passing.

Just this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.

When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge. There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together. There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor. Those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by. The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.

They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent. His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together....

- Author Unknown

In Loving Memory 11/19/2009 - 12/8/2021

You're more than just a dog, Buster. You are and always will be, my best friend.

dog
Like

About the Creator

Lauren Gubitosi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.