Petlife logo

A dog looking for relatives

1

By Marya SchPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

My cat Eol.com We have had two black dogs in our house

It was a mother and son. Like the other dogs in the village, he had missed several years of maturity. You have no control over when a dog is born or where it ends up. One Year around July, the rice had not been harvested, so my family ran out of rice and had to eat potato for every meal. In those days men spoke weakly and dogs did not bark loudly.

That was the year Black Dog got pregnant. At the end of September, she gave birth to four puppies. His kennel used to be in the front door, but after the puppy was born, his grandfather moved it into the woodshed. After giving birth to the dog, the black dog all day flat belly, only skeleton, it seems that even the intestines, liver, belly and lungs all become a dog. It became more vicious and refused to allow strangers near the woodhouse. Every time I hold the puppy to play, it is very vigilant, lest I break its child.

Black dog sat confinement, life did not improve, or every meal a bowl of potato. When we were eating, he did not dare to come to the table and ask for food. He could only stand outside the door, his eyes rolling from pair to pair of chopsticks. A few times it got into the house through a loophole and was kicked by its father. It sobbed and cried and ran away with its tail between its legs. I occasionally throw a piece of potato, it always can't wait to jump up, a mouth to catch, Wolf down to eat.

Puppy after a month, relatives came to my house to adopt a puppy. On the first visit, father brought a bowl of yams into the woodhouse and threw one on the ground. The black dog stood up wagging its tail and pounced on it. Father threw another piece outside the house, and the black dog ran to eat it. And just like that, it was led away. When it finished eating potatoes back to the nest, the puppy had been taken away. For the next few days, Black Dog sat restlessly, moving about in front and back of the house, but not daring to go far. Before long, and someone to catch the dog, the father repeated the same trick. At the beginning, black dog said nothing from the nest, just staring at the ground of the potato, tongue stretched out long, mouth saliva. After a while, it eventually can not resist the temptation of food, left the nest, the father more and more teasing, so the dog was taken away.

After the puppy was taken away, the black dog became more irritable and more vigilant, and would not leave the kennel except for meals.

At that time, almost every family in the village had dogs, many and cheap. If no one adopted a puppy, it would be put into a snakeskin bag and thrown on the road to market. The dog is left outside and can't find its way home. If no one picks it up, it will starve to death or be carried off by an eagle.

The remaining two puppies were no longer wanted and the father said they had to be thrown away. When he said this, black Dog was sitting outside the door with his little dog. At that time, the dog had already learned to eat, and the black dog no longer fought for the potato I threw on the ground, always to the dog.

My father said to throw the dog away, but I objected at that moment, and I was on my guard, watching his every move every day. As a black dog can't fight my father, so I can't fight him. After I left for school, he put the dog in a snakeskin bag and literally threw it away on the road. When I came home from school, I saw the empty kennel and began to cry and threaten not to eat, but hunger was no match for me. After dinner, I went out to feed the dog and found the black dog was gone.

That night it snowed, and I lay awake under the covers, worrying about my two little dogs. The next morning I looked in the kennel again. It was empty.

It snowed for three days, burying the village roads and breaking down trees.

Three days passed, and black Dog did not come back.

On the fourth morning, my sister and I went to school. We were dressed in cotton-padded clothes and trousers and father's new boots. The snow was knee deep and we walked with great care, like two moving snails.

As I passed the grove in front of my house, I saw something in the grass. At first glance, I thought it was a fertilizer bag. When I walked over, I realized it was our dog.

When black Dog saw us, he let out a low, hoarse voice in his throat, like a long-lost relative who suddenly meets and cries. There was blood on its mouth. It was congealed. I reached out and touched it. There was still a trace of heat on it. Shivering in the arms of the black dog, the little dog whimpered softly. I held the dog in my arms and the black dog's eyes were full of supplication. He struggled to get up, only to kick a few times. It had lost its voice, and seemed to have frozen its throat. These days, he must be too busy looking for puppies to find food. He searched and called until he found one, but never the other.

I ran home and called grandfather. He put two dogs in the basket and told us to go to school. I was so distracted in class that I ran home as fast as I could.

I only see puppies. When black dog came home, he died. Grandfather buried him in the bamboo forest next to our house. When I went to the bamboo forest, the dog followed behind. As soon as he saw the mound, he ran over quickly and kept scratching the soil with his front PAWS, as if he wanted to dig out his mother. It scratched for a while, then looked up at me, its small black eyes motionless, as if asking me for help.

I squatted down and picked up the dog. It looked at me and said "woof," and then turned to the grave and said "woof," too. My heart seems to be something bite, pain, vaguely lasting for a while.

As I walked back with the dog in my arms, it turned and said "woof" again, with a long tail, like a child's whimper, followed by silence...

dog
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.