Petlife logo

25-27 March 2023

Thistle's turn

By Emily A DinwiddiePublished 12 months ago 4 min read
Like

Hi all, it's Thistle here. Thought I'd take another crack at this. This morning dawned cloudy with showers. After much whining and a rap on the door by my paw/claws, Master and Mistress got up. Master let us out back, we quickly did our business and came back in, but that doesn't mean we don't have some stored up for our walkies. Mistress got dressed, came down, put her boots, coat and ear muffs on. Us harness up and out the door we went. Up to the grassy area, liquid business done and ball play time. I'm a good girl when Mistress says 'That'll do, come' and I go to her. I don't want to give up the ball, but I do because it means we go on our walkies. Today we did what Mistress calls a medium-large walk because the skies looked very dark and it was raining off and on. We walked a little farther than normal, but not too long, Mistress said she had to do Master's breakfast, our breakfast and her poo pick job. We walked to down town, then back by the park and towards home. There were two very large black dogs in the park playing with their owner. We saw them, they saw us, but Stirling is getting better, he didn't react. We both got treats for that, then we walked on to home. Mistress gave us our anti-allergy treats, but she didn't have any dental sticks (she said she'd get some from downtown), so she gave us some crunchy biscuits. She grabbed her coat and her stuff and out the door. When she came back she had a new reusable tote bag, some dental sticks for us and shampoo for us as well. She said she'd fix breakfast for Master and us, then we were each getting a bath. I like it when Mistress hand-feeds me now, just like she does Stirling. She says it's so I actually get to eat my food and Stirling doesn't stress-eat it. I don't mind the baths so much, I actually sit down in the warm water while she pours it over me, it feels so good and relaxing. Stirling can be a pain though, he doesn't like sitting down in the water. Mistress empties the tub in between my bath and Stirling's, so things don't transfer between us. After our baths we got thoroughly towel-dried, then spritzed with some lavender stuff. Mistress said it's to stop the itchies, I hope she's right. Then Mistress vacuumed the whole house again (she just did it a couple of days ago), then sprayed the carpets with something that smells like vinegar. Master wasn't impressed, so Mistress opened the front and back door to let the smell out. Now we'll snooze, feeling less stressed and a lot less itchy, finally......bye for now. xx

27 March 2023

Today started off as usual. Thistle whining to get Mistress up and me licking her hand. It took a little longer than usual, according to Mistress it is because of daylight savings time, whatever that is. Once harnessed and door locked, we went up to the grassy area. Mistress had Thistle do the routine of her business before ball play. But Mistress did something she hadn't done before. She had me dig a hole, I'm not exactly sure why, but it was fun. I dug down quite a ways, Mistress said it wasn't on the walkway, so it was ok. Then, when Thistle was tires of ball play, we linked back up, did the rest of our business, then did a short block walk around to the park. Mistress said she had work to get done, but that didn't stop her from teaching is something new. We've seen the boulders at the edge of the park every time we walk by, and we usually sniff the base. But today Mistress had me jump up on the end one, then teased me with a treat to move to the next and then down and up onto the next. She said it's something called Barkour. It seemed like fun. Thistle wasn't too interested, but she put her front paws on one to get the treat from Mistress. Once back home, anti allergy paste and dental treats given, water lapped up, and breakfasts fed, we are off to sleep. Laters! xx

dog
Like

About the Creator

Emily A Dinwiddie

Am a 30+ year experienced script/screenplay/storyline writer. Writing is my passion. I write poetry when my Muse gives it. My guardian burned my creative writings in '85, but I kept going anyway.

My work is Copyrighted.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.