Motivation logo

Your subscription has been cancelled

Letting go of dreams that no longer fit me

By JuliaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Your subscription has been cancelled
Photo by Javardh on Unsplash

It had been nearly a year since the day I had pressed on the Subscribe button and paid $83.40 for a website domain subscription. Just the other day, I received a reminder on my phone now pressing me to decide: Would I like to renew my subscription for another year or cancel it?

Here is a little anecdote

It feels like everyone around me has been working on their next-great-thing, be it their own business or online content creation. One of my friends has become a full-time artist, while the other is consistently hitting 20k+ views on Reels. Whenever I watch YouTube videos, I'll see all sorts of people living their best lives, all because they created their own business.

So I looked at myself and thought: Hey, I should come up with a business too. So I had an idea and created a website on Wordpress. My website idea was to create websites for other people, BUT my website was never good enough (for my standards).

Some time went on

...As time went on, I started to realize that while I enjoyed creating my website (and it was nice to have some sort of a goal), I was also very inconsistent about it. I would have some bursts of energy and do some focused work over a few days, and then feel kind of lazy to pick it back up.

Deeper down, I then began to question myself on the reason why I wanted to launch my own website; which helped me start to understand what was happening.

Here is the thing: I've been an overachiever for most of my life and, naturally, at some point over the last couple of years, I wanted to move on to achieve the next big thing. This time, it would be my own business.

But the desire behind the intention to launch my website was very much influenced by seeing others succeed in a similar way; which in turn made me feel that I should have some big idea of my own, I should be aiming to escape the 9-to-5, I should...

By Elisa Ventur on Unsplash

So I got tired of all the should's and figured I would try to stop forcing myself into an idea that I was no longer attracted to. I have a ton of drive and ambition, which has helped me achieve a number of personal and career goals, but these characteristics do not have to be the absolute drivers of my life at all times.

All those wishes were not necessarily my own. I realized that instead of looking for something that sparks passion in me, I was really just trying to keep up with the crowd. As I looked around me, I thought everyone seems to be having such a great time, so let me give this a try.

Your subscription has been cancelled

So I cancelled that subscription. I do not consider myself a quitter (even after "quitting" this). I will absolutely take this as a learning path, both from a technical skills perspective, as well as self-learning. I am happy that I no longer feel the need to constantly push myself into things that just don't quite resonate with me anymore.

Now I am in this in-between hobbies moment; and it's all good. The fact that I've also recently finished a long tv show adds to this feeling of limbo. I still have other hobbies that stick around no matter what (like painting and listening to music). The stillness of these transition periods are like a moment of recharging until the next big thing comes along. When it does, I'll be ready to welcome it.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Julia

I am no artist.

• Bits of poetry, anecdotes, language learning, travel tips & mostly daydreaming.

🇧🇷🇨🇦🇫🇷

@julias_everywhere

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.