Motivation logo

Why You Should Read Your Articles Like Your Audience

Be your #1 fan

By 𝒟𝒶𝒾𝓈𝒽𝒶 𝒲.Published 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I am a firm believer in being your own support system. You don’t have to strictly depend on your audience insights, you can rely on yours too. Sometimes you have to pat yourself on the back and award yourself with the credit you deserve. If you don’t support yourself then who’s going to? No amount of hearts or followers can change that if you can’t appreciate you.

Loving yourself comes with loving what you do.

I read my articles daily and each time, there’s a surprise waiting at my doorstep. Something different is learned about myself and my style of writing. I see it as a great place for self-reflection, mindfulness, and ongoing improvement. Even after the rough drafts and revision stages. I read as if I am not the creator. I evaluate the word structure, the titles, and observe the pictures to see how they match with my storytelling. Each time I read my stories I find something new that stands out. Something that makes me think, “ I like this story” or “I’m not the biggest fan of this particular piece.” It’s a process of analyzing your perception of things.

Another reason why I say you should be your #1 fan is that your audience will be selective on what they like and what they dislike. Meaning some articles will be supported while others won’t be. Your views can skyrocket to the top and sink at any given moment.

This is nothing to get discouraged about though. When you are rooting for what you do, effort is what truly matters. I think it’s nice that Vocal allows you to heart your own stories and appreciate your craft. The only words I hear are “love yourself, love yourself, love yourself.” Writing takes serious thinking time, and no time goes wasted. No matter how much attention you retrieve.

Being a fan of what you do gives you that extra confidence boost to keep pushing, not based on stats but off of your determination, humility, and pride. To keep going when no one’s watching. What is your drive like when no one is reading your stories? Are you reading your own, or are you waiting for your views to increase? You can wait, or you can keep writing.

I’d say keep writing your heart out. And read as if you are the last reader alive. Treasure every written detail like it’s your first time glancing at it. You can build on your works. Honor your works. And carry your head held high.

Writing is a mental sport. I see so many great writers work their butt off day in and day out, every single day, and deliver amazing pieces. And like these writers, your input may be strong but the outcome results won’t always be what you hope to expect. You might not receive the likes, subscribers, or views you want. If you’re reading your stories like a book on kindle, this will be the least of your concerns though.

I simply look at it like this, all writers deserve the opportunity to shine. That’s why Vocal prizes voices that deserve to be heard. You don’t have to be the most famous or the most popular person on social media. They are cherishing every little thing that you do. Sitting on the sidelines isn’t always amusing but cheering yourself on is key. If you feel like you deserve more, treat yourself for your small and big milestones. You don’t have to wait on the world to appreciate your works if you already do.

Encouragement doesn’t come from other people. The foundation of it stems from you. Surely you will begin to blossom whether you have an audience or lack one.

The main reason why I enjoy reading my articles is that it’s almost like self-acceptance. I embrace how I write and cherish it for what it is. I am not just handing out stories to the world. To me, this is a journey. Something to look forward to and look back at like old pictures in a vintage photo book. Sure views and fancy rewards are nice but that has no real value if you don’t admire your own articles. As a writer, you don’t just write, you read as a reader. Your talents don’t go unnoticed when you take advantage of their significance.

“Everybody is talented because everybody who is human has something to express.” - Brenda Ueland

advice
3

About the Creator

𝒟𝒶𝒾𝓈𝒽𝒶 𝒲.

A rambling Curious George who just doesn’t stop writing, doesn’t stop thinking, and never stops exploring.

Feel free to tag along in my pursuit of wonders. 🪐🎨

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.