Motivation logo

Why We Should Look Forward to More of Each Day

“Use your smile to change the world; don't let the world change your smile. "~ Unknown

By Sulav kandelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Why We Should Look Forward to More of Each Day
Photo by trail on Unsplash

For many of us the middle day involves a mixture of things we both wish and expect. Looking forward to coffee in the morning, we regret that we have to go to work; we look forward to coming home at the end of the day, we don't like that we have to wash clothes.

But how much do you sacrifice your life if you are afraid, dislike, remorse and do not look forward, say, 50 percent of your middle day? Reasonable thinking is that, based on this measure, you are giving away half of your life. And to give just because you don't look at your life from a healthy perspective.

When we do not look forward to something - when we do not enjoy it - we are not very much in that moment. It’s like life is just passing, and waiting for it to pass so we can continue the fun or exciting parts of each day.

When we get caught up in this trend, we are not living a diligent life, are we?

We end up doing nothing, not being happy, not being happy and not being fulfilled. All because we expect good things in life to happen to us.

Stop waiting.

You can have a crazy amount of happiness and happiness in life if you just change the way you look at things. And you can do it by following this simple rule:

Look forward to each day.

Forward Life

Looking forward to even the smallest details of your day can not only make the day happier, but it can also improve your outlook on life, help you value your possessions, protect you from stress, and help you to enjoy better relationships.

Look forward to each day and you will see millions of pieces of silver that you have been throwing away, if you had not wanted them.

Perhaps for the first time in your life you have decided to look forward to going to work, you will see how lucky you are to have a job. The next day you look forward to working, you may recall an act of kindness that someone in the office did for you the previous day and you look forward to returning the favor.

If you start looking forward to things more often, you will find many more reasons to rejoice and enjoy all that comes to you.

Look forward to paying off your debts. You buy a roof over your head - something that some people in the world may not have the luxury they can afford.

Look forward to sitting in cars during the race hour; think of it as a time to reflect on the events of your day.

I would sound a little crazy to you right now if you used to hate all these things. Debts and the road, after all, has never been something you can look forward to, right?

Only if you choose to have that opinion of them.

How I Started Looking Ahead Every Day

I can't say I'm a bad person by nature. I no longer believe that anyone is a “natural” or anything. You can change anything about yourself if you really want to. I've read that now.

I will say, however, that I have been a very depressed person for many days. At least I was. Between you and me, I am still there sometimes.

But I have chosen to stop being negative and to stop being oppressed. I just try to enjoy it all. Each day I look forward to all the wonderful things that can happen. I'm not fooling myself. I look at everything carefully.

I used to hate the way I looked. I regretted the things I was not born with. I regretted the opportunities I had never had. I didn't want to work when I didn't want to. For days I had been waiting for this “day” to end, hoping that maybe tomorrow would be better.

I wish I could say that some life-changing understanding struck me suddenly on a windy, mysterious night and that that happened allowed me to live my life well from that day on.

But that would be a lie.

The truth is, it took me several years to feel bad about myself and to look for ways to feel better.

It took a lot of honest conversations for me to see how crazy I was, and it took a lot of effort to adjust my attitude and behavior so that I would have hope in the end.

You know, it's kind of frustrating the first time you see yourself having the power to make your life happier by changing your mindset.

As soon as I started to look forward to being just me, my life became happier. Every day is a good day now, because I have chosen to see it that way.

Don't get me wrong; I am still sad, angry, and depressed. But I have negative feelings like this very often because I don't wake up every day thinking of all the ways in which my day may not go well.

Instead, I wake up and focus on all the good things that are waiting for me.

I tell you this because I hope you will not spend years trying to be happy, and that you will just start looking forward to each new day and feel all the joy you once lost.

I understand, however, that it’s hard for me to suddenly start looking forward to everything, so here are a few tricks that work for me. Maybe they will help you start watching each day in a good light.

1. Maintain a good relationship with you at all times.

When I watch an inspiring movie, see a random act of kindness, or just feel so happy on a given day, I choose to remember those feelings and keep them as main in my mind as I do whatever I do. It’s like having an extra coat of hope over me looking forward to my day.

Focus on keeping the positive emotions in check and you will be stronger when bad things come

advice
Like

About the Creator

Sulav kandel

Im a contain writter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.