Motivation logo

Why Buying Lottery Tickets Are Worth It

The Cheapest Way to Buying Paradise

By Zante CafePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Why Buying Lottery Tickets Are Worth It
Photo by Sean Oulashin on Unsplash

I know the rhetoric and the statistics. I am throwing my money away. I agree, and you are right. But the one small thing that compels me to buy a lottery ticket every time, is Hope. There is a tiny bit of luck or chance in that little scrap of paper. But it’s my moment of Escape. I daydream my hopes and dreams in five minutes, forgetting my troubles. I sometiimes go into details, make lists of the the things I want or the places I want to go and see. I don't go overboard with a gazillion lottery tickets, let alone ten. I will buy one or two. I will buy five tickets when the jackpot exceeds the odds of winning the jackpot. I know one thing, if I play I know the odds are against me winning, but I do have a microscopic slim chance of winning. If I don't play, the odds are worse, I have NO chance of winning. Nada. No way in hell of a chance at winning that sweet jackpot. I will take that chance.

When you think about it, the odds of intelligent life existing in our Universe are even slimmer. Guess what? We beat those odds. And the odds of winning the lottery are better than our probability of living on a hospitable planet in our universe. So I am on a roll and I have to play while I am still hot and lucky in life. I can't waste this lucky streak.

But seriously, I play the lottery to dream my big dream. It's my escape, just for a few moments. Life is hard. And there are moments that we need to escape. Some people escape with a good book, others escape by listening to music, and I escape by daydreaming about a better life with a winning lottery ticket.

One time I dreamed of owning a big beach bungalow on a shoreline property in the Bahamas. I'm on the white sandy beach, staring done an endless powdery white coastline. Beautiful blue Caribbean waves gently crashing at my feet as I wiggle the white sandy beach from between my toes. The waves roar on the shore and fade in a soothing rhythmic cadence. I’m sipping coffee while sitting on the beach, and I stare off as the sun settles just beyond the sea's edge . Then, as the sun disappears over the horizon, I witness that elusive green flash the moment before the evening sets in. Leaning back on my beach chair, I spy the shy little stars coming out from the dark void, slowly getting brighter and shinier. The red sun has disappeared and the orange sky drags itself beyond the horizon.The wind picks up and begins to flirt with the locks of my hair. I pay no mind to the wind. This is my moment, and I scan all that is around me and I take it all in. This is mine. This moment is mine. No one is going to rush me out of this. Its beautiful. The beach house is my Heaven that resides behind my mind’s eye. And the lottery ticket made me see this. I spent ten minutes in my Happy space. It lifted my spirits. It almost sounds like heaven. And for to bucks, heaven was a bargain.

Don't know what your dream is? Do you want to find out your hidden paradise? Find out by playing a lottery ticket. You are only a lottery ticket away from paradise.

success
Like

About the Creator

Zante Cafe

The Coffeehouse to the World

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.