Motivation logo

When it Rains, it Pours

But There's Always a Rainbow at the End

By Hannah York Published 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Just a couple pieces of my silver lining right now

Everyone has had their fair share of bad luck. And sometimes when it hits, it hits hard, and it can make you feel like the world is caving in around you.

I had one of those perfect storms within the last couple weeks.

It started out on March 6th. I woke up to get ready for work, and noticed a notification from my bank account that my debit and credit card had been used in Hartford. I thought it was weird, and then I had a bad gut feeling, and I looked out the window: my car was gone. I called my mom, the police, my boss, and then proceeded to spend the rest of my day on the phone, talking so many people; insurance, the police, the Good Samaritan who found some of my important documents, my boss, my parents, the rental car company, I could go on and on. The silver lining of that day was my rental car was my dream car; a 2019 Ram 1500. It felt pretty cool to be driving a huge truck around.

Finally, my car was found. The physical damage was minimal, but it had to get towed to Nissan because I needed to get a new key. While it was at Nissan, the appraiser from insurance went to inspect my car and get an estimate on how much it would be to fix the damage. I thought we were finally in the clear, because a couple days later, Nissan called me to let me know my car was ready, and I went to pick her up. That same day, however, I got an email from insurance. My car was deemed a total loss. Apparently there was enough engine/internal damage that it would be too expensive to fix, so insurance totaled it.

During this time, COVID-19 started ramping up, and things were starting to close, and places of work were starting to lay off their employees. Well, lo and behold, I got laid off. I had enlisted in the Army and put in my two weeks notice just a couple days prior, so as frustrating as it was, I knew I would be one of the first to be laid off when I got the email. I understand, of course. It's a hard time for family owned businesses, and they need to do what they need to do to stay afloat. All that understanding didn't hurt the sting too much, though.

Throughout this storm, I was still able to make a huge accomplishment.

See, the day my car was stolen, Ben and I had to dish out a lot of money to replace some things, and I had to take the day off work. I had to take a couple days off prior for Army testing, too, so my paychecks were already lacking. Bills were definitely going to be short for the month, but as long as I kept working and picked up hours where I could, we would be fine. Well, now I'm not working at all, and I'm still waiting for my hearing for unemployment, which understandably may take a while to process, because I know a lot of people are going through the same stuff.

Currently I'm taking it in stride. New things happen every day. I have a new car lined up as soon as the insurance payment goes through on my current one, and one of my former bosses offered me a couple shifts here and there. It's take out for a restaurant, so with dine in being closed, take out brings home a lot of tips, so that's a plus. I've been trying to look on the bright side of things lately, because once you hit rock bottom, you can only go up from there.

So now I'm spending my days hanging out with my puppies, and when Ben isn't working, with him. I even got him to watch most of Gossip Girl with me. I'm (not so) patiently waiting on my insurance payments to go through so I can finally bring home my new car, a 2016 Mazda6. Finnegan is coming along on his training, and we are even going to try leaving him out at night instead of sleeping all night in his crate. I'm going to get the apartment cleaned, and get in shape for boot camp.

So yes, sometimes it rains. Sometimes it rains a lot, and you feel like you're drowning in the flood. But you just always have to remember, there's always a rainbow after the storm.

advice
1

About the Creator

Hannah York

On 06/14/2016, my cousin committed suicide, and there were a lot of unanswered questions. After that, I decided that I didn't want to leave anything unanswered, so this page is a place for me to write anything and everything on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.