Motivation logo

What to Do When the Unexpected Happens

For the Good Souls Who Had an Unwanted Challenging Surprise Come into Their Life

By AceadiaPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

We all enjoy life when it's good, and can often get thrown off course when unwanted situations or events come over us.

Lately I've been having numerous unwanted situations come into my life.

And I can tell you exactly what I did so you can hopefully avoid my fuck ups in the future

:)

I let these events overcome me. Take me down. Get negative. Be an excuse to passively give up. I let them stack one on one, and I felt overwhelmed. Threw a victim card here and there, and hoped to get sympathy and attention. I actually was in such a bad state I didn't treat someone, who loves me dearly in my life, right. I craved safety, and stopped fully living.

I knew what had happened to me wasn't right. It wasn't fair. And on top of that I had past unsolved problems showing up again, and I thought fuck can't I get a break?

Then I thought again, all these challenges coming at me at once are a total gift. Because I'll have no choice but to stay strong, or else I'm totally going to drown in overwhelm and not make it.

Sometimes bad events, are great for breaking limiting beliefs. I used to be scared of getting rich, because I thought people would just try to steal your money once they found out you were wealthy. Then I was broke, had a phone stolen for me, when I was literally broke. It helped me realize, people might steal anyways, so you need to be rich to make sure you will be fine when they do.

I remember feeling so uneasy thinking about another event that had happened. I wanted to feel certain. I wanted to feel safe. I had actually planned a beautiful fun exciting day. I was going to do yoga, CBD oils, massages, a mixer with meditation, it was supposed to be such a treat for myself. But because I didn't feel great, I craved that safety, I went to spend money I didn't have on some vegan chicken wings, and went home to watch TV.

And I regret it (not the chicken wings though. That shit was good). Just because unexpected surprises show up in life doesn't mean that we have to fall under them, lose our emotional stability, and stop living.

What happens, happens.

There's still that same faith internally I feel knowing that everything happens exactly as it's supposed to.

But I let one unexpected obstacle come into my life, and used that as an excuse as to stop going to events in life I loved, to explain why I wasn't feeling great emotionally, and why I wasn't treating others right.

"I'm going through a lot of shit right now."

We all got our own shit that we're probably all dealing with.

No matter what's happening in my life, no matter what tough challenges can come up, it's no one else's fault, and no kindhearted human being should be hurt just because I'm dealing with challenges. It's not their fault. It's not fair to them.

Taking care of yourself is a yes. Finding solutions to challenges that arise is a yes. Doing what you can to make the most out of situations that come are a yes, because if you end up getting fucked over by life, why not at least get something good from it?

Real talk, I'm lost as fuck. But I'm figuring it out. And as I do my best to keep moving forward I'm so excited to share the journey.

And I'd love to offer up something to you I remember my meditation teacher Mary once said, "It's over. That's the good thing."

It's over.

Whatever bad thing has happened to you. It's over.

And it's up to you what to do next.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.