Motivation logo

what I've been doing and miss during quarantine.

brought to you by a high school senior.

By Jennie HarlukPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1

Before the world was ending, at the very beginnig of the Covid-19 Pandemic, life was busy. For me, I was just a high school senior sitting in social class being told of a virus that seemed so far away in a land I didn't know much about. Then it was everywhere. It is everywhere. The world has been pushed into isolation, into spare time, into patience.

One day I was a senior sitting in Biology class struggling to stay awake, and the next, I was sitting in my bedroom coming to the realization I may have had my last day of high school without even knowing it. I hardly know what day it is, time isn't really a thing in my brain anymore. I've eaten about 76 slices of avocado toast and I've found myself doing things to pass the time that I never really did before isolation.

Art. Before schools were closed, I was an AP Art student working on my portfolio to submit to New York in May. Because of these unforseen circumstances, the AP board decided to extend the due date of our portfolio, and decrease the pieces we submit. So, I suddenly had more than enough pieces, leaving me with a finished portfolio and spare art supplies. Everyday, I've been creating and experimenting with new mediums and techniques. Because art takes up so much tedious time, It's the best way to distract me from crying over the anxiety of the world's current situation. Art is a great way to pass the time and you don't have to be "good at art" to do it, and create. I reccomend doodling or drawing when you're bored at home. You might surprise yourself with what you come up with. I even painted a pair of old shoes that I plan on wearing my first day out when all of this is over! So art, the best way to pass time and an adequet distraction from reality.

Actually eating breakfast. I know I'm not the only one who "didn't have time" to eat breakfast in the mornings before self isolation. I spent every minute I could asleep before going to school and to me, eating in the morning was pretty much a waste of time. Now, I have time in the mornig to make and eat a good breakfast. As I mentioned before, I've been eating an excessive amount of avacado toast and each day I've been adding different toppings like fried mushrooms or tomato and bacon. Paired with an iced coffee (Oh my gosh I miss my Tim Hortons medium iced coffee extra sweet,) I actually enjoy eating breakfast in the mornings.

Started a business?! Since being quarentined, I suddenly have so much spare time and space in my head to think of new ideas and goals. Things I used to think were so cool but so far fetched, have become reachable and actually very simple. I used to think it would be really fun to start an online clothing store but I just assumed it would be really hard, turns out it aint that hard! Now that I've done my research, I realized it's something I can totally do. My mom and I have started it together and although it's in the very, very early stages, it's real. And I'm so excited.

Cried. A lot. I'll be honest, I'm a little afraid writing this next part. But it's myself and a lot of other kids reality. I understand the horrible circumstances of the world right now, people are closing their businesses, letting go of employees, people are sick, people are losing their lives. And I feel stupid, insensitive, maybe even naive for how I feel, but this pandemic has effected everyone, and has effected everyone in a scale of different ways. I'm a senior in high school. And the most exciting and important year has came crashing down around me. I've lost saying goodbye to teachers, I've lost memories in the making, stories that will never be told, playing music in the parking lot with friends for the last time, school sports games, senior pranks and annual ditch day, our "Til Next Time" assembly and celebration. All the stress and hardwork of the last twelve years, tests and assignments, tears, projects, friendships, scholarships, failures, late nights studying all leading up to our walk across the stage to recieve our diploma and a handshake from our prinicple - lost. I don't know what I look like in a cap and gown, won't know what hearing my name sounds like as I cross the stage, there will be no celebration to commemorate our twelve years, we will recieve a "congratulations" in the mail. We've looked forward to that moment for so long and it's been taken. It feels like all our work has just fizzled out. The roaring fire of excitment, pride, and celebration has been abruptly demolished. I know one day it probably won't matter, but right now it does, and it hurts. There are many levels of loss that have come from this pandemic, some scales are obviously larger than others. But this is mine, and it's crushing me and so many other seniors. So if you know a high school senior, shoot them or a text or call to check in. And if you are a high school senior, I know. I'm sorry. Me too. I'm sending virtual hugs.

If I wasn't supposed to be graduating, this would be my dream come true. I don't really miss school itself. I don't miss the crowded hallways or the heavy backpacks. But there are a few things I miss that I never realized I liked so much...

Driving. I miss driving, Even the seven minutes it took to get to school each morning was enjoyable and peaceful. I miss the bump in the road before the second right turn. I miss recognizing someone through the windshield and the quick smile or wave before passing eachother. I miss the satisfaction of backing into a parking spot on the first try. The feeling of being plesantly surprised or slightly annoyed by the next song that comes on the radio. So yeah, I miss driving - I miss my truck.

And wearing shoes? I know, sounds so weird. I love bare feet and I've always stood by believing feet should be free, but man I miss shoes. I guess more generally, I miss getting ready and putting on an outfit I feel good in, doing my hair, and putting on a pair of shoes before heading out the door. I've mastered the "I've worn this sweater eight days in a row" look and a hair brush has become a foreign object to my hand. I've gone all of highschool living by my motto "look good, feel good, do good." But I just don't have a good enough reason to get ready in the morning and put on makeup. And yeah, I know I could put on a nice outfit and do my makeup, brush my hair even.. but what's the point? who will see? My dog?

I don't want to make this article too long, so thank you for stopping by and spending a couple minutes of your quarentine with me. I hope you're doing okay, I hope you're learning things about yourself and your life that you miss or don't miss. Realizing what is important and what is not. I hope you try new things that you never had time for before and I hope you continue to persue them once all of this is over. That's all folks, happy isolating.

advice
1

About the Creator

Jennie Harluk

Hello! I'm a seventeen year old singer/songwriter born and raised in Calgary, Alberta. Aside from songs, I love creative writing and blog styled posts. I'm just here to write whatever I can, for anyone and everyone to read!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.