Motivation logo

We're Not Really Strangers, the new Instagram Phenomenon.

Instagram Ads got me again, you too?

By KamPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
4
My personal note from the creator.

I did it, I caved. I bought the Instagram phenomenon that shows up between every single one of your friend's stories. I saw two girls, a mother and a daughter, and a big family crying after playing it, so naturally I followed the Instagram account and today, it came in the mail. I tried to tell myself that I bought it for my boyfriend or my best friend for Valentine's Day, but as I sit here writing this (still in bed at 4 pm) - I'm curious and I thought it would be a new experience during quarantine. Maybe it'll make me feel better about being couped up, eh? So, if you're curious about it - I'm gonna give you a little sneak peek, in case, you too, cave and buy it. This is the exact wording from the box, some card examples, some questions that you may have (because I had them), and of course, I'll give my feedback after I make my boyfriend play a round with me:

Hello Stranger -

"Do you really know your best friend? How well do you know your mother, sister, or anyone else close to you? WNRS is a purpose driven card game. Three carefully crafted levels that allow you to create meaningful connections with friends, family, a significant other, and even a complete stranger. Ready?"

How do you play?

Set aside the final card for the end of the game. Sit facing one another with Level 1 cards face down. Now, stare deeply into each other's eyes - seriously, stare into each other's eyes. The first to blink draws first.

Player A draws a card, player B answers. Alternate back and forth until a minimum of 15 cards are played for each level. Once 15 or more cards have been played per round, feel free to advance to the next level. Make sure to keep a pile of used cards separate to avoid confusion.

What are the three levels all about?

Level 1, Perception:

Do you know how other see you? Level 1 is about gaining perspective on what first impressions w give offf and challenging the assumptions we make about others. Answer with the first response that comes to mind, if guessed incorrectly by your partner, feel free to reveal the actual answer.

If you're playing with friends, answer the perception question as if you were meeting for the first time. Feel free to skip any you two already know about each other.

Level 2, Connection:

Who are you, really? this round is about asking the rarely asked questions and connecting on a deeper level.

Level 3, Reflection:

Time to reflect on your game experience.

That's it? Any extra cards?

There is also dig deeper cards, wildcards, and the ability to play with a big group of people in a "spin the bottle" type question game.

The game comes with two clear, dig deeper cards. Each player gets a 'dig deeper" card, which can be used once per level. These cards are meant to encourage transparency if you feel your partner is holding back.

Wildcards are pretty self-explanitory. If you draw a wildcard your partner must complete the instruction unless otherwise stated. These are meant to be spontaneous, and a lotta bit silly. These cards can appear at any moment during game, some with time limits.

You said multiply people can play? How?

This game is optimized for 2 players, however play this game with up to 6 people for an even stragner experience. To begin, sit in a circle with your group and place the game in the center. Set a pencil (or something to spin) in the middle of the group. The player that the sharp end lands on does the card with you. The levels will go differently than before.

Set a "dig deeper" card on each side of the circle for anyone's use throughout the game. Each player can use the dig deeper card one time per level. Remember these cards to encourage transparency!

Level 1 card examples:

What does my phone wallpaper tell you about me?

Do I look kind? Explain.

Do you think I fall in love easily? Why or why not?

Level 2 card examples:

When you're asked how are you, how often do you answer truthfully?

Wildcard: Press shuffle on your msuic library. Explain the first song that comes up!

What title would you give this chapter in your life?

Level 3 card examples:

What about me most surprised you?

What do you admire most about me?

Wildcard: Write down one thing you want to let go of this year. Read out loud, then rip up together. (both players)

Off first look, I'm oddly terrified and excited to play this game. I'll go play with my boyfriend tonight and save this - the excerpt below will be how it went:

*1:35 pm, the next day*

It's interesting. Playing with someone you know, and love. My boyfriend and I have been dating for 8 months now and we started by FaceTiming for the first 4 months before we even met. So, I will say that we have talked and shared a lot with each other. Granted there is always more to learn and more to uncover with someone, or about yourself.

This game is truly meant for friends that haven't seen each other in awhile. It's for the people that you hung out with all the time before we all went into quarantine. It's to reconnect with people that you care about and that care about you. While playing last night, I did open up about things I didn't even realize were an issue in my life. This game wouldn't be as useful if we hadn't gone through 2020. Mental health has always been a topic of discussion, but ESPECIALLY this past year.

So, if you're someone like me that likes to deal with your shit on your own, get this game. Be open to talking to someone other than yourself. Get it off your shoulders. You'll feel lighter. Even if it's just reaffirming that someone knows you, sometimes better than you know yourself.

product review
4

About the Creator

Kam

My belief: Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.