Motivation logo

Vocal Media vs Medium: What is The Most Profitable Writing Platform?

Which one is more profitable and good for beginning writers?

By Viorel SecareanuPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - September 2022
169
Image by Author

Let's start with the Medium Platform

About 20 days ago I started writing on Medium. My first article was published on August 25. In 3 days I managed to get 100 followers and sign up for the Medium Partner Program to monetize my articles.

I still haven't found a topic to focus on, I'm just at the beginning. I wrote about a lot of topics, such as mystery, relationships, life, short stories, sex, news, education, science, etc.

Some are read, others less so. Most of those who follow me are just numbers, they don't read my articles. The disadvantage of the Medium platform is that you only get paid if the subscribed members read your articles.

Let me give you some examples.

Image by Author

In the image above are the most viewed and read articles that I posted on the platform. Some articles are posted from the beginning, others for a few days.

When asked How to make money with Medium, I can only say that it is Hard. At least in the beginning. I am aware that I don't even have a whole month and I can't have very high expectations.

But I will show you below with proof as soon as possible the pleasant surprise I had on Vocal Media in just two days with a single article.

On August 28 I wrote What is Nostradamus' prophecy for 2023? which did not have many views for 2 weeks. But on September 10, it started to go viral.

That's a good thing, right?

Image by Author

Image by Author

Image by Author

Out of 2900 views, only 2% were internal (members of the Medium platform). I get about 600 views per day on this article, but 99% are from external sources who only pay me if readers become members of the Medium platform by the end of September.

On August 28 with 2900 views on this article Medium pays me $1.67.

Image by Author

As the total amount collected from all the posted articles resulted in $7.73 in 15 days.

Amazing!!! It's not bad for such a short time and with only a few articles written, without a specific topic and beginner.

Good. I showed you how things are with Medium and my experience of 20 days since I've been on this platform. Now let's get back to the pleasant experience I had on Vocal two days ago.

Vocal Media

I signed up on the Vocal Media writing platform three days ago. I said to try to see how many views I can get from my article What is Nostradamus' prophecy for 2023? and how much money I will receive.

Can you publish on Vocal Media and Medium the same article?

If you didn't know, you can repost your articles from the Medium platform on Vocal Media or vice versa without being held responsible, as long as the article is yours. If you get inspiration from other sources, I recommend using Plagiarism Detector to be sure that your article is clean and original.

When I signed up for Vocal Media, I did it just to repost my articles from Medium to increase my income or rather the money earned from writing. I did not have very high expectations, especially since I read other articles where it was written that it is difficult to earn money on Vocal Media. Maybe not hard but very slow.

How to make money on Vocal Media

On Vocal Media, when you sign up, you don't need 100 followers to be able to activate monetization.

I currently have zero followers on Vocal. You signed up, you connect to Stripe and then you start writing.

The disadvantage of Vocal Media is that after you have finished writing the article and want to distribute it, you have to wait for it to be accepted by the editors. And this can last from a few hours to a day.

But I don't consider it an inconvenience as long as the money is earned from two sources for the same article.

How much money can you make on Vocal Media?

Is Vocal Media worth it?

On this platform, it is not necessary to subscribe and pay five dollars to be able to read other articles from other members. On the other hand, if you pay and become a member, you have certain advantages.

For example, for 1000 views, the profit is $3.8 if you are not a subscriber. If you are paid subscribed then for 1000 views you will earn $6.

The subscription price is $49/year. You can't pay monthly like on Medium.

Three days ago I posted my article What is Nostradamus' prophecy for 2023? which was approved by the editors in about four hours. Then I waited until the morning when the data was updated with views and money won.

In the morning I had a shock.

Image by Author

On the first day, I had 1500 views and $5.81 and on the second day I had 3000 views and $11.61 with the same article that has 15 days on Medium and I earned only $1.67.

If you want to withdraw money from Vocal, you must have at least 35 dollars earned or 20 if you have a subscription.

Conclusion

Both platforms are good. But…my opinion is that on Vocal you can make money easier at the beginning. You don't need followers, you can activate monetization starting with the first article.

I recommend starting with both platforms simultaneously with or without a paid subscription.

success
169

About the Creator

Viorel Secareanu

I share thoughts on photography and life, mostly lessons learned around things I’ve been dealing with the last few years, managing time, finding focus, and being happy.

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you find something inspiring here!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Amir Hossainabout a year ago

    Awesome! Thanks for sharing your personal experience, which will be beneficial for beginners.

  • Mark Grahamabout a year ago

    Way to go that is why I chose Vocal.com to write, but I write educational articles on the subjects I learned and sharing them here. I get readers but not like that. Congratulations.

  • WOAabout a year ago

    I clicked into this article because when Is started on vocal and looked it up, an article (not on vocal) compared vocal with medium. Medium struck as better paying with a bigger audience but when I looked into the partner program the terms felt kind of off to me. I decided to stick to vocal. What is interesting to me is how much title matters. I've found some great articles but I have to weed through them. I don't feel like vocals interface makes it easy to get a sense of articles or browse the way I want. Titles become essential. Reading this article allowed me to add to that theory. All of your titles are very eye catching, informatively succinct and kind of hook a potential reader in. (Even with great titles though I'm finding content a gradient of hit or miss)

  • Nils von Kalmabout a year ago

    This is really helpful for me. I'm a writer on Medium and, just like you, I want to repost my Medium articles on Vocal. You have helped me decide. Thanks!

  • Josh Afumabout a year ago

    Thanks for sharing. I am not sure whether things have changed here or not but i just started posting my articles here from 10/30 and i had one read. I started driving traffic to my articles from 11/1 till now it show zero read for this periods. I have more than 1300 visitors between 11/1 1nd 11/3 but its reporting zero on vocal. I am not sure why

  • Annie Edwards about a year ago

    Thank you for this!

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Krysta Dawnabout a year ago

    I like to share more personal posts on Vocal as they seem to do better here than at Medium. Tips, how-tos, and how to make money posts seem to thrive at Medium. Of course, writing on trending news helps there too. But, both sites seem to have friendly communities, which is a nice change.

  • Ceezabout a year ago

    Congratulations and thank you very much for sharing the information of your personal experience it helps a lot

  • Congratulations on your success. Keeping going!

  • I am on both platforms, and you are right. Thanks for this info.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Denise Larkin2 years ago

    Congrats on your success on Vocal and Medium. I have 86 stories on Vocal and don't get that many views every day. I don't know what I am doing wrong. On Medium I earn a lot more as I have been on there since 2017 and have 3.1K followers.

  • Cassey Dale2 years ago

    I've been on Vocal for about 2 weeks now. I've gotten 368 reads and made 2.11 so far. But still not on the top stories which I thought maybe I would be with that many reads. It's like vocal is a hit or miss type of thing.

  • Linda Rivenbark2 years ago

    Congratulations, Viorel, on a great start on both Medium and Vocal. I have been on both platforms for 6 months to a year and have not made that much on reads on any single story. Keep up the good work on both and you will accomplish a great deal in profit and satisfaction.

  • Emby Lat2 years ago

    Congratulations on your viral article. In my case I have had 2 posts in Top Stories but they have not exceeded 100 views each, about 60 cents. I have more than 25 posts and I hope to continue writing in Vocal Media, more as a hobby than expecting any kind of profit.

  • Arbab2 years ago

    Amazing job. Thank you for sharing your experience with both of the platforms. From your article, I can say that vocal is much better in the views of earning as compared to the medium.

  • GD Madsen2 years ago

    I also just started writing on Vocal, and so far only reposted my Medium stories, and... I love Vocal so far. My first two stories went to top stories the next day, which was a very pleasant surprise, but even without being in top stories, every read still earns you something.

  • Manisha Dhalani2 years ago

    Thanks for breaking this down - so far Medium earns me more than Vocal but I've gotten bonuses on Vocal that Medium doesn't have that has boosted my income. All the best with your endeavours on both platforms.

  • Ebony Dominguez2 years ago

    Interesting. You have prepared quite a detailed analysis. Thank you.

  • Steffany Ritchie2 years ago

    I am new to Vocal and so far reposting Medium content here. It's a positive sign you were able to generate a second viral response with the same article, I have found a lot of my Medium stuff gets higher outside views too and am curious if Vocal can compete. So far with six stories I have earned .03 cents though so not amazing lol! If you can get a hit on Medium you can make decent money but site reads are down for me lately. Interesting comparison post, thanks!

  • Matthew Angelo2 years ago

    I use mine for everything from short stories to UX Design and Dog Training to Social Media Marketing. My work is all over the place. This was a great article and very encouraging.

  • Jonathan Townend2 years ago

    Thanks for this honest piece of writing which I find is a useful start for many novice writers, wanting to breakthrough into the exciting world of writing on a platform. One thing to say is, don't worry too much about finding a 'niche' at all. I write on many topics - I just write on where my mind wants to take me. That's what writing is - to me indeed - it is a therapeutic escape.

  • Rachel M.J2 years ago

    Interesting! I earned more money from reads in one month on Medium than I did a year on Vocal. Guess the experiences really vary.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.