Motivation logo

Vocal and My Future

Good experiences with needed growing pains

By Sarah DanaherPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
4
Vocal and My Future
Photo by Octavian Rosca on Unsplash

2024 will be a new year, and I want to get my dreams started. I have been writing for over a year and getting my work out there. It was a journey from when I began. I started with more stories and a few poems here and there. It was growing in many new genres and attempts to bring more depth to my writing. I have made multiple top stories and will continue to try to make more. It is also nice to build a community of writers, good and bad. Somebody stole one of my stories, and management kicked the person off the platform. The community is excellent, and now the world is much more extensive for me. The future can be more prosperous, but Vocal is only the beginning.

The Past

When I started, it was nerve-racking to enter my stories. I even missed a few challenges due to long hours at work. It was the experience of writing more and becoming more independent.

The stories kept coming, and I tried new genres I barely use. It was an excellent eye-opener to expand my comfort zone and overcome my fear of new genres. All the challenges have been stretching my ability to write and become proficient in many genres. Though I have not won any challenge, it has become more simply a good exercise. So, all the stories I have done. It was a good run, and as the year continues, I will keep up with the challenges as best as possible.

The Present

For now, I continue to write the best I can. I want to become better as I go. The challenges have become more varied topics and more about me. Vocal has made me write about my life more than I wanted. I prefer fiction to express myself without identifying so much. It is an excellent place to have some support. My poetry is improving; I even have a few top stories. So, I have continued with the current challenges. This one made me think about what I want to do with all this practice. I find the continuing as a journey and wish for something bigger. I will do my best to succeed and have a minimal chance of winning any challenge.

The Future

As Vocal has been great for my development, I will expand my horizons beyond just one website. It is fun doing it now, but a whole world exists. I want to write for other sites and magazines to expand my horizons.

It is nice to have this community of encouragement but to be a professional writer; one site is not enough. It would be nice to be known outside of Vocal, too. The future could mean anything. The outside might be more critical, but it would be more growth than I imagined.

Many avenues are available to writers, and it would be nice not to be working in my current job. The place is too time-consuming, and the writing will continue with interruptions. Seeing my work in various publications would be a welcome situation—many dreams of becoming a full-time writer. The dream would be to lower my participation on Vocal and start doing better for myself.

I want to finish a novel eventually. It is a common dream in this community. The acceptance of the book would be incredible but unlikely.

Going through the process and trying all the steps would be an excellent experience. Success might not come, but at least I gave it a chance.

As for Vocal, I would stay even if I ever make it big due to my raffle prize. It is interesting to see others' work when they read mine. It will be nice even if I lower my participation but not entirely give up on a future win, which is mostly impossible. The site has taught me to be braver in my writing, and I will give it a chance. I have learned many lessons, but they are merely a stepping stone to better things.

Conclusion

All I have ever wanted to do is express myself better. My ideas were not terrible, but my presentation needed work. I have written over one hundred works and even had a few top stories. It was a long journey, but my nervousness lessened when I entered a story. Only the one time they kicked out my submission when all they needed to do was put spaces in my poem. I have a decent experience with Vocal. It has given me the confidence to pursue my dreams and become a better writer and person. Overall, it was good for me to express myself and become an author.

Vocal
4

About the Creator

Sarah Danaher

I enjoy writing for fun. I like to write for several genres including fantasy, poetry, and dystopian, but I am open to trying other genres too. It has been a source of stress relief from my busy life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Good luck on your future journey!! It's always inspiring to see someone pursue their dreams.

  • J. Delaney-Howe4 months ago

    Good luck on your journey!

  • Antoinette L Brey4 months ago

    so glad you are persuing your dreams

  • I wish you all the best for you novel and looking forward to reading more from you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.