Motivation logo

Virtual Races

This Single Moms Journey into slow and steady fitness

By Phoenix Published 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Virtual Races
Photo by Ivan Torres on Unsplash

I am sure if you are reading this then your have hit the end of the internet, turn around go back and find something more interesting to read!!! NOOOO but seriously, if your anything like me you have done every diet and suggested diet plan or semi diet aka diet shakes known to man

Ok well I have and short of cutting out everything that has any taste and anything that that makes anything just delicious and exercising like I was back in the military again. Which to say I was pretty fit up until I had my first kid and then my body said.....What? loose weight? Are you crazy lady, and everything just went down hill from there, whos with me? Anyone? Just me huh? Oh well, Hey I am not here to shame anyone or anything. Heck if those Nutrisystem meal plans work for you that's awesome good for you keep it up. If working out like a beast master is going great, then keep it up buddy I am here for you. If you like the way you look, and sitting on the couch eating a pack of Oreo's and a 6 pack of beer makes you happy as pigs in mud then okay dokey have fun with that I leave you peace my dear friend and give you a high five or a fist bump and hope you live long and prosper.

But lets say your anything like me, and your less then thrilled about going to the gym. Though you know you have to go out and exercise, like you know its good for your health, but your like me and trust me OMG I'm lazy, like almost as bad as Homer Simpson, but not as bad but I am not like Marge either.

Shoot I wish I could have that body, even as a cartoon mom with three kids she's great looking, while I have three kids and look like Ralph Wiggims mom

Ok Ok you can stop making fun of me now I make fun of me enough. Sheesh. Although my kids may act like Bart, Lisa and Maggie, I decided to take this Covid-19 curse and turn it into a mole hill.

I was diagnosed with IBS-d which means I really cant do a lot and I mean ALOT of the diet shakes that are out there because it has sucrose in them. Listen my IBS peeps if you don't know this please know this now, any sugar substitute with the ose at the end is not good on our tum tums ok.... oy vey I learned the hard way. I love those Cirkul drinks

but man oh man only some of their drinks don't have their sugar substitute in it so be careful, otherwise its wonderful for getting your kids to guzzle water like camels.

But I saw all these Virtual Races online. At first I was like nope, no way I cant do it, I cant run. but the more I looked into it the more I saw that it was more like do it at your own pace, walk it, bike it, swim it. I was like oh very cool. So joined a one and it was crazy expensive and I was like no way, not doing it. Then I joined the conqueror community on Facebook, they are great, they are a whole group of people who do those Conqueror Challenges and get metals and what not. A bunch of sweet people they are honest to goodness, they were telling me that they is a converter that tells you how many miles you do in housework and yard work......well hell, thats what I am going todo I started using it.

Since using it and joining Yes.Fit and getting metals from them and the Fandom Running club I had to put up a Metal holder just to my metals. I swear I did I aint lieing see

all my metals, I am very proud of from Yes.Fit and Fandom Running club

I have started taking my dog to the park for walk every day to every other day, we are up to doing 2 miles each time we go. I am down 10 lbs. which may not be a lot but its something and technically losing weight isn't a race now is it? Its about life style changes, its about getting healthy, taking walks is healthy, and its nice to take walks, its also nice to get rewarded with something shiny when you do reach a goal. Like hey look at me I got off my tush today, what did you today sally? oh nothing just sat there eating bon bons, well at least I went to grocery added miles...…idk I don't know I don't talk to my neighbors. I'm an introvert that just shakes here head at the weirdos and walks away. lol

advice
1

About the Creator

Phoenix

I’m a divorced single mother. I am also an Army Veteran, a daughter to cancer survivor, I have been through hell an back. I know one thing, I have voice, and I’m ready to use it, I will no longer be afraid to share my stories to the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.