Motivation logo

Virtual Love for the Socially Distanced Soul

A light dose of social media goodness to radiate your day.

By Jessica Elaine Aparicio Published 4 years ago 5 min read
1

What a time to be alive! Am I right???

History is happening right before our very eyes. We are witnessing a pandemic and it's riveting. Covid-19, or more commonly known around the younger folk as ‘The Rona’, has done something to the digital era that has never happened before. We are in a time that even with all of our technological and scientific advancements, no one expected to be living through. All of us have these natural and unique-to-humankind tendencies to socialize, gather, move, travel, dance, be outdoors - these things help us feel alive. But staying in house has put restrictions on these things we do that bring us joy so naturally.

Luckily, for us, we have the greatest outlet available that has been around now for a little less than 30 years: The Internet. There's this thing I call digital socializing that's happening around the clock. We are learning and connecting with others at a deeper level through our online presence. It's honestly such a radical time we are living in, that you must take advantage of what's out there for you!

Social media platforms like Instagram, TikTok, and YouTube have transformed virtual connectivity. Even the type of content has changed over time. I love that I can now see everyday artists in their creative spaces sharing their process of materializing beautiful work. Or relating to users who get vulnerable with the world and share their all too common life experiences both tragic and powerfully transformative.

So, let me share with you a little bit of what has brought me comfort, joy, love, wholesomeness, and wellness during these weird and surreal times. I am the type of person who is used to being busy all day every day, with full-time work and all kinds of social events happening. But now, with all of this time and space I have been gifted, (yes...I am seeing this with a positive perspective in mind) I have found this new strange interest in myself. This time inside the home, has awakened this drive to discover myself more profoundly. And the things I am discovering about myself are amazing.

Intrigued so far? Read on to find out more.

The Wonderful World of Plants:

The Instagram account @houseofplantlovers is for the plant obsessed or for those who are in need of some isolation friends! This account shares images of plants with their human (or animal) companions in an array of environments all around the globe. Viewing the photos in all its green glory and plant-friendliness is pleasing to the eyes. In this photo shared by @houseofplantlovers you can see how they bring some light humor into our lives during these tough times. I'm sure some of you reading this can relate to this image, right? When I first saw it I thought "Wow! This is exactly where I'm headed, haha".

Scientifically speaking, it is said that bringing plants into your environment can really add some amazing benefits to your mood, living quality, and overall health. And if you aren't interested I'm having any live plants at home then I recommend following this page to get a feel of how plants can have you feelin' and vibin'. For me I've found a new bond with plants from nurturing and caring for them. To see them grow slowly, it is like a mirror image of seeing myself grow slowly, and its empowering.

Shaping What You Are:

Tom Bilyeu is the host of Impact Theory Podcast. This podcast looks inside the mindsets of some of the world's highest achievers. I started listening to his podcasts probably a month or so before this all happened. And at that point I was struggling with an identity crisis. I was depressed, I had an increase in anxiety episodes, work was stressful, and I was miserable at my job. My mindset just wasn't in the right place and I knew I needed to change it before it spiraled downward. Impact Theory really got me out of that funk and deep into my personal care and development.

Honestly, you will find some good advice on self-improvement from any one of Tom's episodes, but I want to talk about this one in particular. In this episode Tom interviews Todd Herman, the author of The Alter Ego Effect. One of the things that transformed my mindset was this idea that having an authentic self is not realistic because there is no 'self', or in Herman's words, "there is no you".

I know what you're thinking. Whoa. No me? This is outrageous thinking, right?

But let me try to explain it a bit and maybe you will be as mind blown as I was. So, basically we have many identities within ourselves. There isnt just one you but, rather you have many selves that you can be authentic with. And It's easy for us to get trapped in this idea of 'authenticity', but it becomes problematic when you are trying to become the greatest version of yourself. As humans, we are shape shifters and we can be and act in anyway we choose. Key word: choose. Its a choice we make. We can tap into a kind of superpower that allows us to form into the best version for the environment we are in.

Still not getting it? Listen to the podcast and find out for yourself. You can build your awareness of these identities you carry to empower yourself and create change. All of us are attached to certain beliefs that shape who we are, but our story from the past doesn't have to be the same story we live tomorrow. As human beings our possibilities are endless.

Spread Good Vibes Around the World:

Last, but definitely my favorite clip to share with y'all is this video from @cousinskeether. This is really going to get you hyped! It literally had me dancing along with him! The message alone to "spread good vibes around the world" speaks volumes about what we all should be doing if we are capable to do so. This is a time where togetherness and community is stronger than ever, and it's because of people like Mufasa who are putting themselves out there to share their joy to the world. Watch this and find out if you can't smile along with Mufasa while he is groovin' to this catchy song.

social media
1

About the Creator

Jessica Elaine Aparicio

Aspiring Storyteller

I've come to realize that we all need creative outlets to build resilient mindsets, to understand the world around us, and to grow as human beings.

I choose to write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.