Motivation logo

Throwing Stars by Joshua Aikens

Helping Those We Can

By Joshua AikensPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Throwing Stars by Joshua Aikens
Photo by Pedro Lastra on Unsplash

hrowing

As I layed there on the beach listening to the sounds of waves roll onto the sand, I stared up into the bright blue sky. I could feel the heat of the sun warm my body. The sound of a gull coming closer from distance, kind of scared me.

Suddenly, I am lifted from the ground! The sky began to spin in all directions before I noticed that I was being thrown into the air and abruptly crashing into the ocean. Before falling below the water's surface, I could see a young boy staring at me from the beach.

Gasping loudly, my eyes open searching for air. As I catch my breath, I realize that I was dreaming. A dream about being a starfish who was thrown back into the sea by a young boy. I have always taken my dreams seriously and try to remember them as soon as I open my eyes in the morning. Laying here pondering this dream, I can't help but, remember my starfish moment that happened years ago.

It was a very difficult time in my life. I was a single widowed mother of three. Instead of receiving love and support from my recently deceased husband's family, I received only hate, blame and rejection. How was I to blame for a man's choice to abuse drugs and alcohol, then finally, his wife. At any rate, everyday was a constant focus on my children and work. I was a medical assistant(MA). I worked long hours performing some of the most disgusting tasks that an MA faces on a daily basis. Those in the medical field know what I mean.

One day out of the blue, I received a package in the mail. Inside was a mysterious small black book. It was worn and old. The paper had yellowed with age. It looked to be a hundred years old. When I opened and read it I could see that it was the diary of my estranged grandfather. From what I knew of the man, he was a womanizer who had over 20 children across the country. He was mean when he drank alcohol, yet, a great business man when sober. There is more to his story then I care to divulge at this time.

Inside, on the date of my fathers death, were a series of bonds totaling $20000! IN MY NAME! I was astounded. Shocked! Nothing like this ever happens to me. I was so elated and happy. It took a couple days to cash in the bonds. But, by that time I decided what to do with the money.

It had been my lifelong dream to own a cafe dedicated to coffee, art and social justice. I always imagined myself being a big promoter of local art and artists. A place to showcase the talent in my community. I would hold weekly art exhibitions and farmers markets. Profits from such ventures and the sales of coffee would go toward feeding the homeless in my area. I would have programs that give employment to those coming out of prison. Become a safe haven for domestic violence victims, families in need and all that we can help. This company will raise awareness of the racial and gender inequalities in society. Overall, to be a beacon of hope, love, knowledge and peace. To be inclusive instead of exclusive.

Well, that is a breirief way to put my starfish moment. That was over ten years ago. Today my cafe has blossomed into a large estate that is solely non profit and non denominational. We have a large farm with many horses and goats. We harvest enough food to feed a third of the homeless in my city. Not to mention provide jobs and skills for those who were incarcerated. We have several coffee shops running in the area. Our farmers markets have become the best in the county and our art center has become renowned throughout the state. We have helped organize rallies against systemic racial injustice. With several Political Action Committees morphing into their own groups. We stand strong for women's rights. We have organized many like minded businesses in the area to help work toward these ends.

Much much more has happened since my starfish moment many years ago. Today I am just grateful to be the one throwing starfish back into the sea.

success
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.