Motivation logo

Three Times the Charm

Maybe not always, but it can still lead you in the right direction

By L.B.E (Lee)Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 10 min read
5

Accept All Aspects of Yourself

My spiritual awakening has been a blessing and a curse. I say this because when I learned to not deny my spiritual self as I once was, and embrace writing and expressing my spiritual and inspirational side as well for being motivating, and helpful as I can be. I still wasn’t feeling I was truly being my authentic self in the sense of fully expressing and writing what my heart’s desire has wanted.

I have a whole, other side to me than just that. Ever since I was a kid, I have had a creative side and always full of imagination and wanting to explore and express myself in that way. But I felt I was being forced to hide that side of myself. I say that because not only did my book I was writing before, (something kept happening to it, three times to be exact), but also a story I had intended to write for the Doomsday challenge, I kept having trouble with and never was able to enter that into the contest. Both were what I truly want to be able to do other than of course my spiritual/inspirational writing. Both the book I felt forced to give up on and the story I never was able to put out there was my creative side, my stories that are Sci-Fi in which besides comedy is my favorite genre. It felt unfair and I felt I was being denied a part of whom I am.

Take the Lead When Life Takes a New Direction

Well, I decided, no, I must be able to do both. I just have to separate the two. So I will write my spiritual/inspirational, etc. on my “Lee’s Butterfly Expressions” Facebook page and have another Facebook page for my creative endeavors in my name “Lee McPherson,” I cannot deny either side of myself. (My spiritual or creative side). Not and feel whole and as though I am doing what I am truly meant to do. (I know it may not make sense far as, things happening to my other two stories, but I feel that maybe I’m just being shown I should keep the two separated).

Along with wanting to help others and to inspire, motivate, and help with spiritual transformations; since I was 12 not only have I had my heart set on writing but I have wanted to be a screenwriter/film director writing and making Sci-Fi movies. I must be able to write books as well as write and make movies. And everything I am working on; promoting myself, and doing what I can to gain followers, and a fan base, and building my portfolio, all of that is leading up to what I want to accomplish, (as well as my current studies).

Take Charge

One of my bigger goals is to go to film school to help me fulfill that and help make that happen. And I am already taking a creative writing course along with a freelance writing course to help build my writing career/journey. And I have books on the subjects, including on screenwriting and film directing, (to give myself a head start). I have also joined different writing groups, aspiring author groups, screenwriting groups, and film groups. I have already spoken about the fact I am writing two books, one is about my spiritual journey and my struggles, etc., but my other book is a Sci-Fi that started as a screenplay that I decided I would make it a book first and then after film school I want to turn it into a screenplay again to make a movie out of it.

With all that being said I had to get this off of my chest, it’s been bothering me for quite some time. And soon I am going to start sharing my creative writing, not just my spiritual, inspirational pieces. I want to write some short stories to share. So I don’t feel like a child being told she can’t express herself fully as I am capable of doing. I have only shown part of whom I am and I am so much more than that.

I also feel by me not being able to share the creative writing pieces, I am not sharing with the world what else it needs, entertainment not just spirituality.

Let Your Light Shine

So no matter what in life, help others but also do what you know deep down you are meant to do as well. Fully be who it is you are meant to be, otherwise, you are only being half of whom you are meant to be. Be true, and be you.

Set Your Intentions

I also have made four vision boards, in which I have categorized. In the last part of summer of 2019, I made a practice board just to get the feel on making one and until I knew for sure what all I wanted to include in my vision boards. Then March of 2020 I made my first official vision board which is my overall idea of what I want to accomplish. The second one I made in May 2020 and it’s my dreams and ambitions for my life. From career to what I want to accomplish within my career, and what kind of house, car, and where I want to travel whenever that is more possible. My third vison board was made June/July 2020 and is my beauty and health goals to achieve and strive for, my overall health and beauty regimens for the inside out. And last but not least my 4th vision board I created December 2020/January 2021 and it’s love and romance. It’s all about what I want to attract in my relationship, etc.

I have magazines that had for example: “what we Love in March” and I cut those out as well to put for the headline of my vision boards. It really complimented my vision boards.

I chose dark blue posters for my vison boards because it has more of a positive and uplifting mood to it, it reminds me of the sky and the sky is the limit when it comes to dreams and ambitions.

Say What You Mean and Mean What You Say

I also have on the back of my bedroom door written on index cards positive affirmations. A lot of people put theirs next to or on a mirror, but I find it more convenient to have on the back of my door where I can look over at it more often. It really keeps me motivated and uplifts my spirit and helps keep me going.

I also have on my wall right in front of where I do my studies and writing, things to remind myself to rethink what I am thinking when I am not thinking positively. Such as “stop thinking things happen to me. Instead think: things happen for me.” As well as I’m no longer a victim; I am a survivor. That helps me not to go back into dark places if I were to try to. I have come a long way from where I was and I have done my shadow work and work through my traumas and have healed from them, but it’s good to have those as some reminders incase I were ever in need of them.

Set Goals

I have carefully planned out and written goals, small ones to help build the bridge to the bigger ones I have set out for myself. Because each big goal starts with smaller ones to conquer in order to reach and achieve the bigger ones you have set out for yourself. Making a firm and solid foundation is essential when working on building up your career. If we built any career or business upon a faulty foundation it would all come tumbling down and leave us feeling frustrated and would leave us feeling as though we failed. (A true failure is someone that quits all together or never tries at all), but with that said we have to find all the ways not to do something before we get it right.

Just as roman wasn’t built in a day neither is success, it takes a lot of hard work and dedication, and most importantly not giving up. We can get to the point of wanting to throw in the towel, and that’s okay, it happens to the best of us. But what matters is that you don’t actually do it. Take a break, take a breather, meditate, go for a long walk and clear your head, just don’t give up no matter what.

And having those goals written and set will help you to stay on track and see where you have been and where you are going to help you to reach those dreams and ambitions that you want to be able to achieve. And it doesn’t matter how fast you get there, it’s the slow and steady pace of making sure everything is done right and orderly. That’s the beauty of striving to be your own boss you aren’t on someone else’s time line but your own. And it most certainly doesn’t matter; what time frame everyone else thinks you should be on. It’s not their life to tell you where you should or shouldn’t be. Just remember the story of the Tortoise and the Hare. “Slow and steady wins the race.” It’s taken me time to learn that one myself. I have gotten constant reminders too. For example I kept seeing a turtle and a rabbit in my back yard in 2019 (one day I saw both at the same time), and I was constantly tying to make things happen and not slow down and do things the right way, and it kept blowing up in my face. Finally I got why I kept seeing the rabbits and the turtles. It didn’t click at first because I was too busy to really think of what that was trying to symbolize to me. (You’d be surprised what messages are trying to come through from the simplest things if we take the time to pay attention).

Keep a Journal

I also have a journal that I have labeled: “My Manifestation Book of Reality.” I write down everything I want to obtain or do as though I already have or have it. It keeps me staying positive and my eye on the prize. I know exactly what I want and I’m making room for it and accept it as already mine.

Moon Phases

I also use the moon phases to help me to set my intentions. I even have a Moonology diary. In which I also write out the new moon affirmations that’s listed in it, on index cards and put them on my wall each month to read aloud and make my new moon wishes to help me set my intentions as the diary instructs. And I do the forgiveness bucket each full moons as it instructs and I write out whom I need to forgive and then burn the pieces of papers in the bucket and then release it. That allows you to release the negative energy to allow more positive energy to come in. (I also have the book too).

To Conclude

If you truly want to accomplish something in life, you can make it happen, with enough determination, willing to work for it, keep dreaming and as long as you are steadily working toward those goals, it will eventually happen. Success takes time and in the end we’ll appreciate it that much more once we get there. And look to your vision boards, positive affirmations, and goals to help you stay positive or get back positive when we need to be reminded and get back on that horse and keep trying.

Thanks for reading.

Click here to get two months of Vocal+ free, if you join now.

advice
5

About the Creator

L.B.E (Lee)

I’ve had a love and passion for writing since I was 12 years old. And I enjoy inspiring and motivating others.

I’m diligently working on perfecting my craft; I’m currently taking a Creative Writing Course. I am also writing two books.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.