Motivation logo

This-ability

Art Inspiring Art

By Barbara VernerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

I was earning a triple honors degree in criminology, law and psychology, while working part time driving a bus for a retirement home. It was a beautiful sunny summer day, and we had planned to take the retirement residents on a picnic to a park across town. I was asked to load the Coleman cooler filled with food, into the bus. I lifted the heavy cooler, and then turned toward the bus to load it. Suddenly, I felt a jolt of pain in my back and a sensation of my spine collapsing under the weight of the cooler. I knew I was in serious trouble. I headed inside to the nurses station and explained what happened. They gave me an ice pack. It was all they could do.

It's been 22 years now since the accident, and my back has never recovered. I was left permanently disabled by three semi-herniated discs in my low spine. Often bed ridden for months, it was a harrowing ordeal. I knew I would never be able to work again. Poverty was imminent.

Several years after the injury I decided to pick up a paintbrush. I have always been artistic, and with so much free time on my hands, I needed something to fill the void. I realized quite quickly that I was a natural with the paint brush. Although, without any technical training in art, attempts to master certain techniques would often frustrate me. I kept at it though, working on small projects, and giving most of my art away. It was a fun hobby.

Then one day, fueled by a lack of financial resources, I decided to create an art project made completely out of recycled materials. With nothing more than a pallet, and some old laundry soap bottles, I created a masterpiece. A beautiful daisy surrounded by a colorful mosaic background. I hung it outside on my back porch and the feedback was immediate. It was a hit! I was told it was inspiring, and that was the best compliment I could ever receive, so I continued on creating mosaics. I hung them on the garage, on the fence, and on the walls of the house. I loved, loved, loved creating these mosaics. I am completely in the flow when I work my magic with these bits of plastic. Nothing could make me happier.

Five years later, inspired by an online art course, I decided to go big or go home. I created a mosaic that was 7 feet tall by 8 feet wide. I hung it on the side of the house, and threw a neighborhood party for its unveiling. Starry Night: Recycled, I called it. A lot of people attended the party, but one woman in particular caught my eye. A beautiful Asian woman carrying a little black book. I could see her looking at my art work and writing in her little black book as the other guests enjoyed the music and refreshments. I could not imagine what she could be writing. I attempted to approach her several times, but kept getting sidetracked by other guests asking about my art. I never did get to meet her, and I had no idea who she was, or what she was writing in her black book. The mystery of this woman stayed with me for some time.

Three year later, I came across an art contest on facebook. It was a call to artists for display pieces to be hung on a main street nearby. I sent in pictures of all my mosaics, and hoped for the best. I really didn't expect to win against seasoned and educated artists, but that is exactly what happened. I was rewarded $15,000 to spend the summer creating mosaics to be displayed on 4 buildings. I was ecstatic!

There was an official presentation/award ceremony that I was to attend, and who did I see there, but my mysterious Asian woman. This time I did approach her. Turns out, she was the head of the neighborhood committee that chose my art as the winner for the competition. The little black book was nothing more than...poetry. Inspirational poetry, written whenever inspired.

"Colorful pieces all in a row. Colorful pieces, look how they glow. Each one meaning nothing alone, the whole together is a seed that was sown. Reminding me gently to finish each piece, because art is not art unless it's complete."

My art had inspired her poetry, and her poetry has inspired my art. I now carry my own little black book of inspiration.

success
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.