Motivation logo

The Younger Year's Too the Adult Year's

By: Elaina Brady

By Elaina BradyPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Finding Who You Are Meant To Be

Hi, I am Elaina Brady. I am twenty-one years old. I am from Mykolayiv, Ukraine. My biological mother had me at eighteen years old. I was born on Janury 23rd, 1999, on a saturday. I was in a orphange for year. After my mom had me, she had to give me up. A police officer came and found me in appartment by myself, then I was put in the orphange. The first few months I was in the orphange, My biological family could take me in, but after that I was available to the public. The interesting thing is that, if my adopted parents came day early or later I wouldn't had been up for adoption. The day they came, I was up for adoption. My adopted parents went to the court over seas, to make me a official citizen of the United States of America, so that when I turned eighteen years old, I didnt have to go through the process. From the time I was adopted, until I turned eighteen years old. I was a citizen of two countries. My decisoin was to stay in America, because I would have more opperunties. That's where my story began...I was brougth in a family of six. I had four brothers and one sister. I was the baby in the family and I was also the baby with my cousins. My child hood life was interesting, but it was inspiring. As every year passed by, I grew to love music even more. Music became my escape world, I loved singing and writing songs. The songs I wrote were my personal diaries of everyday. As I loved music, I also loved writing and doing speeches in front of people. When I was in eight grade at Ebenezer Middle School. I was part of United Nations. I was representing the Republic of Congo. The two current issues were poaching of the elefant tusks and cutting down the Amazon Rain Forest. You had to dress as your country and speak your country langauge. I got Ebenezer Middle School in third place and I got into first place with my speech. Then as I started high school, My freshman year I got to be a part of a 4H conference. Where I was award Excellence Medd. I was sharing my points on how apps could change how people study and how it would help the teachers find a way to get the students to understand the material, to pass the test. My four years i was in the Student Leadership Program. My sophomore year of high school, I got the Student Excellence Award from the Student Leadership Program (SLP), they were sponsored by Gulfstream. Aslo during my sophomore year, i was part of JROTC for two years. I was awarded 2nd Lieutenant, to recruit and have my own presentation team. We would find ways to reach out the srudents, to show them all the oppertunities you could have, if you joined JROTC. Then at the end of that year, I joined the Mediator team and became certified. When a student got into a conflict, they didn't speak to the principle. The spoke to a student one on one, to make them feel more at ease. I did the Mediator Program the summer of my freshman year and the end of my sophomore year. The spring of my junior year was interesting beacuse I got Vice President of the National Honor Society, as well as I signed up for Dual Enrollment with Point Unversity. I was going to start college classes my senior year. I was leaving high school and going on to college. Then my final year of high school was approaching, It was exciting but kind of sad, because I got to help so many people and I got to go to alot of places. The end of my young life was coming to the close and I was about to enter my adult years. The Younger Year's Too the Adult Year's. Fresh out of high school, I applied to Walmart and I got in. I was hired May 31st, 2019. Not evening two months later, I was awarded Excellence Award for Fresh, Frozen and Dairy. You made sure the quality of the product was good to go out, that customers were satisfied with their product and if they didn't know where the product was, you would show them. At the end of 2019, I was transfering upfront to be a Cashier. I started January 18th, 2020. Within that same month, I got recongized for Continous Improvement Award at Walamrt. To make sure the customers got in and out, I answered any questions they had, Then the pandmic happened, Covid 19 became the main vocal point in everyone's life. The economy got shut down and people started to wonder what would happen next. People lost jobs, hours were cut and many people went to unemployment because they got paid more. Not only was this year an election year but also it was the start of the new decade. No one would have imagine the new decade to start of this way. Right now, I had to make a difficult decision to leave Walmart. Up to this point I was with Walmart for a year and eight months. I left on good terms, but my hours were cut to none. If it wasn't for Walmart, I wouldn't know what I know now. They took a chance on me, the also took their time to train me. They let me be apart of there team. Walmart is a good place to start, when your building up for profile and yur character. I also left because I also felt it was my time to leave and to share this story. All of things I have accomplished was something that I couldn't do by myself. I want to thank my Mom and Dad and their families, as well as my friends and coworkers. If it wasn't for any of them, I wouldnt be who I am today, but also wouldn't be where I am today either. I wrote this story, because it wasn't about me. I wrote it because any one with a dream, can make it come true. A lot of people came over here because of the American Dream. All of us want to live the America Dream, but what is the American Dream really about....It's about finding what you want to do in life and if that makes you happy. The younger years is what prepared us for our adult years. Never give up on what you believe in, becuase you can make a way.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.