Motivation logo

The World Thanks You for Being Positive

Practical ways to decrease negativity in “negative situations.”

By Lorraine Da BrainPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
92037 Gratitude

As I capture the moment above, I say out loud, thank you. But it's not just when I experience abundance in life that I say, thank you. I preface my thoughts and reactions with gratitude, and thus I have trained myself to start my sentence/reaction with “Thank you!”

I realized that regardless of what you are going through, you can always say, thank you.

In late 2009 I wrote in my journal, while trying to lift myself up from the deepest depression I have ever experienced:

Thank you,

Thank you that this didn’t happen to my brother.

Thank you that this didn’t happen to my sister.

Thank you that it happened to me—because I will survive this, because I am equipped to. My diagnosis has given me the control of the disease that I need; I couldn’t image seeing my sister suffer, and having no control over it; Thank you for eliminating this suffering from my family. I take full responsibility for ensuring that my family does not suffer from a loss—because I commit myself to live, not to self destruct. I say to my familia:

Thank you for your understanding...

I know I am demanding...

However, I am standing

By my family, commanding

That we continue handing

Our love to one another...

withstanding the obstacles in life,

expanding the bloodline,

making humans that are kind!

I share that to encourage others to do the same, start your sentence with thank you, especially if you sense a negative emotion coming along. The act of saying thank you for something derails the negativity! Try it out!

Even if you are insulted, say thank you. Someone once told me, in many words, “Please be mediocre,” I replied:

Thank you kindly,

Settling; not me!

I foresee

My future daily!

Put succinctly,

I will happily

And aptly

Be the girl

To change the world 🌎

You have to realize that negativity enters, because you allow it. If you don’t give it attention, and you starve it of its power, it will cease to exist. Your attention is your most important asset when it comes to mitigating outside negativity. You must know who you are, what you want, and be thankful for all you have.

Simple? Right? :)

Maybe a little harder in practice, but the results are fruitful. Any time you can avoid external negativity, you are setting yourself up for positivity.

But what if you are negative on the inside? Negative towards a coworker, a friend, a person in your third period math class? Even a celebrity?

I realize that it comes back to negativity, and attention to that negative energy. If you speak negatively to someone, you are just perpetuating that energy in your personal energy vortex. When I hear someone venting about a person in a negative way, I typically let them vent for max 10 minutes. Once they get some of that energy out, I ask them a simple question “I see that _____ person is affecting you; just one question, are you a hater, or are you a fan?”

I love to see the look on peoples’ faces when I ask this probing question. It makes them think about why they are putting in THEIR energy to bring negativity into the world. Is it because you are a hater, and just want to be negative, because you are likely jealous/envious, or is it because you are secretly and unbeknownst to you in love with said person.

Part of living a great life has to do with looking at the positive, and being intentional with the things you say and do.

Make your sentences start with “Thank you,” and make your commitment to positive energy be shown through your example; don’t add fuel to negativity, combat it by asking probing questions. This can change your life, but more importantly, if implemented, this can change your loved ones lives. Everyone wants to be more positive, many people don’t know how, and maybe have given up on it.

These are just some practical ways to implement positivity in a negative world.

Just posting a piece of my mind to bring you peace.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Lorraine Da Brain

Helping spread peace of mind, with a piece of my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.