Motivation logo

The Will Smith Method

When hard work beats talent

By The Breatharian BloggerPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
1
Photo by chuttersnap on Unsplash

I once heard the quote that hard work beats talent when talent doesn't work hard. This quote has been with me for years and, as I have carried it, it has taken me far. I watched an interview with Will Smith that was very motivational. He mentioned that he was not particularly talented or blessed with amazing abilities. He saw himself as a regular person. The one thing that stood out from the rest of the people in the industry was sickening work ethic. He stated that he was not afraid to die on a treadmill. It didn't matter how fast, strong, or gifted you were. If you were on a treadmill next to Will Smith, one of two things would happen. You were going to get off first or he would have to die.

I took this philosophy into my life in different areas. I can remember boxing at a gym in San Marcos, Texas. I learned much about the basics from the coaches, but I also found that I had to teach myself. There were days when no one was there to motivate me. During these days I had to be my own coach. I had to find a way to push myself past my own procrastination. Even if no one was rooting for me in the background, I had to dig deep and cheer for myself.

What remains inside

Photo by Virgyl Sowah on Unsplash

There were times when I didn't feel like doing it. Times when I felt slothful and sluggish. During these times I chose to show up regardless. I can remember seeing my gym mates and strangers who would come in from other gyms. Some of them would spar or just work out. Many people began to notice me. They would point me out like, "Who's that guy?" I would see coaches whispering in the background, wondering what my weight class was and who I fought for. Using my corner-vision, I could feel them watching, waiting on me to quit.

I never admitted to anyone else that I followed the Will Smith method. It was a major part of what kept me on my game. Before I fell in love with the process, I was out-working the next man. I would make it my mission that, if you got on the heavy bag next to me, I would keep punching until you quit. I would always give it one more round. It didn't matter how big you were. It didn't matter how built you were. It didn't matter how solid your punches were on that heavy bag. I wouldn't dare leave the bag until one round after you were gone.

"The difference between ordinary and extraordinary is that little extra." ~Jimmy Johnson

With this method, I built up a wicked stamina. I could go ten rounds in a row without stopping. I didn't have to show off, or wail on the bag, but I would not stop. By giving my all I learned what "and some" means. It is what's left in the tank when you think you are spent. The percent we don't realize remains inside. Take it from me that you can always go one more round.

Realizing your greatness

Photo by dylan nolte on Unsplash

After I grew out of competing with others, I became my own competition. I felt like I was in the best physical shape of my life, able to do things that amazed even me. I still have that drive within me that propels me from day to day. I fell in love with jump roping, hitting the speed bag, and doing roadwork. I actually started to enjoy the pain of the workout. With this psychological trick, I broke free from my mental slavery, the shackles in my mind that held me back from realizing greatness, the inner cage that made me believe that I didn't have what it takes to be better each day.

"Great works are performed not by strength but by perseverance." ~Samuel Johnson

Consistency can be a key to unlock many doors in your life. You will find you've had the key inside you all along. All it took was the persistence to push past your fear. To ignore that voice that tells you, you'd be crazy to go one more round. I challenge you to see what happens in your life when, instead of giving up, you double down. When instead of throwing in the towel, you keep going. Imagine what you can achieve and who you can impact when you inspire yourself first.

Find whatever motivation you need to light that spark within. There is a better version of you waiting on the other side of fear. Sometimes we fear our own success. We fear how powerful we can become when we go the extra mile. But when you get to the top of the mountain, you have the most magnificent view of all. You can see everything and realize there are more mountains to be climbed. You have greatness within you, my friend, but don't just take my word for it. Find out for yourself what happens when you aren't afraid to die on a treadmill.

Thank you for taking the time to read this article. If you gained value from this, feel free to drop a tip. This allows me to continue making a living creating new content. Your support is greatly appreciated!

success
1

About the Creator

The Breatharian Blogger

Here to inspire you on your journey. ✊🏾

Connect with me on IG @jromeshaw

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.