Motivation logo

The Voice of Dreamin’

Find Your Voice and You Will Find Your Happy Place

By David FournierPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1

Testing, testing, one two three. I have an announcement to make. There is an abundance of voices inside that require nurturing. I am, of course, referring to the multitude of characters that make up my whole.

I grew up watching mature cartoons like The Simpsons and Duckman and tirelessly imitated what I heard. My dream was to one day be a voice over artist on successful animated productions. It sounded like the perfect career. Just show up to work in lazy clothes and have a blast making silly sounds. What more could a kid ask for?

Just ask my friends and they’ll tell you I rarely speak in my natural voice. I’ll jump from Homer Simpson to George Bush to Matthew McConaughey to a Scottish man. There is rush I get when I come close to mastering a voice. If I can get to over 80% accuracy in my impression, I feel accomplished. It’s hard work with a large dose of fun added to the recipe.

Like most parts of our body, the voice is a muscle that needs exercise to reach its peak. I first came to this realization when I was a teenager trying to make my friends laugh with my impressions. It was hit and miss at best. As good as I thought I was, there was a lot of work to be done to reach transformative heights for my passion.

Acting is one of the toughest careers to pursue. I made my bed at a young age and knew it was the only choice for me. Like most actors, I struggled to find my confidence and started to lose hope that I had any talent left in the well. The one thing that always elevated my chin was my voice. I knew it was my greatest weapon. If only I could figure out how to aim it properly.

Acting is about transformation. It’s about becoming someone you’re not yet putting a large injection of yourself in it. I rarely get that sense that I’ve completely transformed when I act on stage or on camera, but I often reach that nirvana when I influence my voice. That feeling of total control let out with abandon as I tweak a few muscles to speak in someone else’s voice. An empowering sensation to be able to hone the powers of a vocal chameleon. But unlike certain creatures of the jungle, I had to work hard to obtain my special powers.

I started to study how my many parts function when I attempt a voice. My body language, the muscles being used in my mouth, and the use of vowels. The most important realization was the mental image I maintained. I realized picturing Homer Simpson as I talked produced much better results. If I did George Bush, I’d imagine how his mouth moves as he speaks. If I did an accent, I’d create a character and imagine what he looked like. I was determined to get my best voices to the level of second nature.

Repetition is the only thing that matters when trying to master your craft. That includes watching and listening to these characters repeatedly. Even listening to my own recordings to see where I slipped up. I want people to be blown away when I open my mouth. Not just for what I say, but how I say it.

My accents and impressions started to find their intended target once I figured out the ‘why’ of my efforts. Why do I like manipulating my voice? I do it because it brings me joy. It brings me joy to see the smiles in people’s faces when I hit the right note. It brings me joy when I’m having a heavy day and my own voice finds a way to lighten the load. Perhaps there is more power inside than I realized.

Not too long ago I found myself at a seminar in California on how to start your own online business and market your skills. I was having a hard time envisioning how I could launch a brand based on my voices. Then one of the speakers came on stage and it was none other than the very talented Roger Love. He is one of the top voice trainers in the world and works with the best actors and singers in Hollywood. He opened my mind to all the things one can do to train their voice for any given situation. He wasn’t just a singing coach; he was an adaptation coach. My mind was blown.

Now the hard part begins. Putting things down and making sense of them, and I was never the confident one in putting thoughts to paper. I’d have to dig deep and look at my voice from all angles.

A few years ago I started to find my voice in writing poetry and children’s stories. My father was always the writer in the family and I was the performer. Quickly my fluidity with the pen started to take shape. Then I started to see in 5 dimensions…well sort of. The relationship between words and voice. The emotion and energy of the meaning behind the words. My mission became clear. I must share my knowledge of the inner workings of the voice with the world.

I decided to write a course on the many facets of the instrument we take for granted. Not only to teach people how to manipulate their voice, but how to take control of every aspect of their lives by simply understanding the role their voice plays.

Still in its genesis, my course is overflowing with possibilities. The more I meditate on it, the more new topics flow out like a leaky faucet. I’ve shared my ideas with several friends and already have interest on several fronts. Whether it be improving your social skills, becoming a better storyteller, or closing an important meeting in business, there is something for everyone.

So here are the chapters I have thus far….

1. The Emotions of Words: Understanding that there are synonyms for a reason. Each word holds a different emotional connection. In essence it’s the concept of nostalgia.

2. Our Relationship with Words: We have the ability to change the power we assign to any given word.

3. Balance of Energy: The energy we impart on others comes not from our words but from the vibrations in our body and voice.

4. The Art of Conversation: It’s as simple as a game of tennis.

5. Trusting your Voice: The self-fulfilling prophecy of believing in what you produce. Improv, the art of being in the moment and trusting your voice. Allow yourself to be awkward.

6. Well-oiled muscle of your voice: Accents/impressions.

7. Social Adaptability: How to adapt to any social circle.

8. Healing Power of your voice: You can do so much to help others just by talking.

9. The Art of Storytelling: The Never-Ending Story or a wonderful tale in 3 acts.

10. Reading the Room: Most communication is non-verbal. When to know enough is enough.

11. The Art of Closing: Always leave on a high note.

12. The History of Communication and it's Evolution: We have come a long way and we still have much to accomplish. We are capable of communicating on a higher level.

13. The Art of Listening: It’s the ultimate experience of being in the moment.

14. Visual Words: Certain words paint a story on their own.

15. Fluctuation of your voice: Change your monotone – become passionate and expressive. Your voice is a malleable instrument.

16. Humor: The art of banter, wit and chemistry. A lack of a sense of humor can come from insecurity.

Only time will tell how far my reach will go with this passion of mine. From book to course to YouTube personality, I plan to leave an indelible mark with my voice.

It all started with a boy who watched too many cartoons, and it has blossomed into a layered art form. I never imagined I’d be this close to fulfilling my greatest dream. It took a long time to gain the belief in myself, but for the first time I see a path forward. A vision of using my talents to scale new heights is materializing into the next phase.

I’ve always believed in the power of people sharing their story, sharing their voice. In my case, I’m literally and figuratively sharing my voice in every way shape and form. I give my all to my craft. I give my heart; I give my soul and I give my tenderness.

A passion is something that lights a spark inside and brings you fully to life. It makes you the most you you’ve ever been. It unleashes the ultimate feeling of being in the pure moment of joy. That’s what my voice offers me.

success
1

About the Creator

David Fournier

I am a writer, poet and performance artist. My whole life I have loved the beauty of words, whether I'm writing them into a narrative or using them to make silly voices. I am poised to publish my first book and kids series.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.