Motivation logo

The tiktok video worth $10k and so much more..

Unknowingly gifting my daughter the luckiest dollar bill in the world

By kristyH818Published 4 years ago 3 min read
3
David Dobrik $10k Dollar!

The early stages of the pandemic coincided with the end of my daughter’s 8th grade year. It wasn’t easy to sit by and watch her sadness grow as one by one, everything she had worked so hard for was cancelled. In almost no time, nearly everything in her busy life was taken away from her: Showchoir competition season, the traditional signing of yearbooks, middle school graduation ceremony, and last but not least, the highly anticipated “grad night” that was supposed to have taken place at Disneyland’s California Adventure. Staples of her adolescent years were replaced w distance learning and stay at home orders.

As a single mom living in a tiny one bedroom apartment, I don’t have much money to spare for graduation presents. I put $20 (to represent the class of 2020) in a cute little card and gave it to Hailey, completely unaware of the whirlwind of events that would soon follow. I had noticed some writing on one of the dollar bills but after searching high and low for a 20 dollar bill, I finally decided to just throw in what I had: three 5’s and five 1’s. Later that night, Hailey asked me if she could order some cool new led lights for her bedroom that she had seen in a tik tok. I told her I would pay for half the cost of the $30 lights. Happily reaching for her grad card to grab $15 to give me for the lights, I watched as her expression changed. She ran to her phone, desperately searching through tik tok for a video she had seen while jumping up and down and saying something about $10,000. At this point, I was more than a little skeptical. Even if what she was saying was true and this actually was this so-called $10k dollar, it would most likely be a scam or some sort of joke. This couldn’t possibly be real, could it? It wasn’t long before I realized the truth of the matter. The serial numbers matched. This guy, David Dobrik really was in fact a HUGE celebrity and really did have a whole history of similar acts of kindness and generosity. As unbelievable as it sounded, this guy was legit and this whole thing was actually real. It was happening.

Thee tiktoks say it all. In the end, I unknowingly gifted my 13 year old daughter one very lucky dollar bill which not only boosted her confidence and popularity going into her freshman year of high school, but allowed me to start a savings account in her name with $10,000 in it. Finally, something amazing had happened to us after so many years of financial set backs and personal struggles.

Before this experience, I’ll admit I barely knew tiktok even existed. It’s been 3 months since David Dobrik surprised us at our home with a check made out to Hailey for ten thousand dollars and now tiktok is a huge part of our lives. I have my own page and have fun making silly videos and my daughter has a following of over 140k people all because of this wonderful act of kindness made possible by the generosity of one man and this app. Many people are aware of the “David Dobrik dollar“ or have seen the tiktoks about it, but few know the whole back story of the graduation card or how much this experience has impacted our lives. I am forever grateful to David Dobrik and tik tok for making this possible to begin with. We needed something good to happen. It’s so good to see my little girl so happy again.

social media
3

About the Creator

kristyH818

Nothing’s what it seems..Life is but a dream

k<3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.