Motivation logo

The Things I Wish I Knew

(and am still discovering)

By Ryan McDonaghPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

So by now it shouldn’t come as a surprise to most, but we live in a time where we can argue that we’re all on a pretty even playing field. The Internet and technology that we all have access to enables us to reach far and beyond anything that came even 10 years ago… the advice of "just do it" is something that I’ve actually put into practice time and time again, but there’s one main important thing to consider... Audience!

How do we establish and create an audience nowadays? Social Media following?

But what if you only like sharing a picture of your sandwich? (Yeah ok there’s an audience there (?))

Youtube tutorials?

But what if it’s from so long ago you feel it is outdated? Is it still relevant?

Answer is yes, it is still relevant, but the question is obvious. What do you actually do? Myself being a designer and a writer, I’ve found THIS platform (Vocal) to become someplace that we are all here to share something. Stories, advice, ‘how too’s, so any audience is starting to be established, but it takes consistency.

I mean personally I’ve tried and continue to work on numerous freelance websites with little joy. Does it mean that my work is bad? It’s subjective really but I know I wouldn’t have come this far if I thought it was bad. It’s all part of the journey, I know for many who are creative struggle with ‘selling out’ and ‘business’ but really, at the end of the day, what dopes any of this mean. If anyone who has been to art school, maybe racked up some loans (me too) regardless to whether you enjoyed or hated it, it leaves you with an automatic sense of ‘NOW I NEED A JOB’.

After doing my Masters degree I felt kind of lost, the usual for most after having the privilege to receive such education. I continued to create and make the work I love, and will always continue to do so. Though, I did feel that maybe I had to find something within my work that could serve others, give some kind of insight or try and make my positive message more obvious. With time though, I started to realize that these things cannot be forced; we create the work we create and whether people get something from it or not, that’s up to them. Don’t get me wrong, I really want people to connect to the work I make, and they surely will, but when the time is right and when I am at true peace with what I do.

We almost forget that time of why we even started making work we liked. We forget that time of where we would just make work we’d want to make and not have an overwhelming sense of doom. I mean, basically it is nothing that none of us haven’t heard before, but now at this exact moment in time we are all exactly where we are meant to be. Whether we like the current situation we are in or not. The main question is; where do we go from here? I’m hopeful that I’m establishing an audience and although I know I have a reason, importance to share with the world, I also know that we all do. Now is the time to share it one piece at a time and all will work out just fine. We do it for ourselves but we also do the work we make for others, whether we always realize it at first or not. It's work to be shared by the world (if we chose it to be), but I cant wait to share more.

But still, that slight sense of uncertainty is the exact reason I’m writing this. Make sense?

success
Like

About the Creator

Ryan McDonagh

Somethingsomething.

From UK - I enjoy writing down thoughts and ideas and also do visual art.

www.ryanmcdonagh.co.uk

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.