Motivation logo

The Strange Girl Sitting In The Rain Writing

The Days Of Rain And Writing

By Shelly BartleyPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
7
The Strange Girl Sitting In The Rain Writing
Photo by reza shayestehpour on Unsplash

The day still lingers in my mind. I could smell the rain with a hint of lavender. The lavender was from the lotion that I was wearing at the time. Sitting on the school steps not too far from home, I waited. The rain had not yet started, but I could feel the soft drops tapping at my skin already. I smiled as a cat walked up and decided my foot was its bed. A neighbor walked up, looking down at the cat. The neighbor called for the cat to come home. The cat gave a soft meow to me just before following his owner back home.

There was a small spot on the concrete, step-changing to a darker color. The color slowly trickled out into little streams like moving lines of paint. The feeling of the raindrops was a cold shock at first. It was almost as though the cat had distracted me so that it would be more of a surprise. With my pen and paper in hand, I began to write words on the paper. A couple of raindrops hit a few letters formed from the ink. This ink spread out like an invisible being was trying to paint a picture. The word's on the page could still be read perfectly. The only difference was that they had a little extra decoration to them.

My writing pulled me into a deep trance. I did not notice the group of people standing in front of me. Hearing a muffled echo of a sound, I looked up. There were no words said at all. They all just stood there staring at me for a few minutes. One of the girls walked up closer to me while still staring. The group looked hard at me with concern written all over their faces. Before this girl said anything, I lifted my pen and paper for her to see. After looking at it for a short time, she gave me another odd look. When I began to write again, the group of people started to walk away. I noticed a pair of shoes standing in front of me again. I looked back up to see this boy. He grabbed my pen and then wrote on my paper. It was a website with a group of writers. I know this because he wrote me a little note next to it. He smiled at me as he walked away to join the others.

The rain was starting to pick up. I grabbed all of my stuff to head home quickly. When I got home, I got on the website to join the group. I noticed there were some fantastic writers on there. We all shared our work and talked for a long time. I explained that I would sometimes sit in the rain to write because it was relaxing. It helped me clear my mind and focus entirely on the words I was writing.

Some years had passed by when I was working at Big Lots. The website had been closed for some time, and I had lost touch with all the people. It was a hectic day at the store. There was a very long line of customers that I was waiting on. A few more cashiers opened up their registers to help out.

The line had gotten very short, and I only had three people left. The last person was up, and I had set up so that I could go to break after I finished with the previous customer. I turned around to answer a question from another worker who needed help. When I turned back around, a tiny notebook was lying in front of me. On the paper was a drawing of a person writing in the rain. I looked up to see a familiar face. It was the now grown man version of the young boy I had met so long ago. This man was the boy who had gotten me to join the writing group. On my break, I got to meet his family. His wife complimented me on my work. It mentioned that this young man had printed off some of mine and the other people's work. He put all the work in a scrapbook to keep.

His wife said I was known as the strange girl who wrote in the rain. His wife explained that she had begun to write after hearing about me. My work encouraged her to find a way to handle her stress and write stories. All the stress of that day had faded away. The rest of the day floated by fast. When I got home, I took out the notebook that I had occasionally been writing in. I wrote a poem to match the day that I had.

The point of this article is for encouragement to others. We all have our struggles in life from time to time. If you do work on anything, then please do not give up. A person does not know that they have helped someone until later. A reminder came to me of these events that occurred some time ago. These were memories that I had lost and forgotten until someone helped me remember how I helped them as for the person who reminded me, I gave them a big thank you. If you give up without giving it your all, there will be a lot of lost moments that you may have had.

If you miss out on each of those moments, they could have been moments to help someone else. If you are struggling, then take a break. Use that break to refresh your mind. Take in some nice long breaths and begin again like it is brand new. It is okay to switch to something else to refresh your mind. Many people multi-task a lot to help keep things fresh best wishes to all those creating something out in the world today.

advice
7

About the Creator

Shelly Bartley

From a very young age, I have always written anything from poetry to books. Enjoy painting and other arts. Have written a few songs and short stories to.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.