Motivation logo

The Reason for the Season

Original Christmas Songs Written by Jim Gaven

By Jim GavenPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Cover Art for each Single

Being that I am a singer/songwriter/musician, I am constantly seeking new and different ways to express ideas, situations/experiences, feelings, and relationships. One of the best ways I know how is to flesh them out through the act of writing lyrics and creating melodies to match said lyrics. Since it is the Christmas season, I feel compelled to share the lyrics of 2 songs I wrote about this wonderful holiday and holy-day: "Merry Christmas Baby" and "It's Christmas". Both songs were inspired by my son and are a stark reminder of what the true meaning of Christmas is: the birth of Jesus. I hope you enjoy reading through them as much as I enjoyed writing them. If you feel so inspired to listen to the actual songs, you can do so by going to the links at the end of each lyrical section below.

"Merry Christmas Baby" (Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven) 

1st Verse:

Merry Christmas, Baby

Merry Christmas, Under the Tree

Merry Christmas, all year long 

Merry Christmas, choirs of angels sing their songs

Chorus:

Keep this holiday, for the only one who will save the world

There will always be a special place, for him to dwell in my heart

2nd Verse:

Merry Christmas, Honey 

Merry Christmas, prince of peace 

Merry Christmas, count your blessings and pray for those in need 

Merry Christmas, bells are ringing

Merry Christmas, King of Kings 

Merry Christmas, joy and wonder 

I believe in what I can't see

Chorus:

Keep this holiday, for the only one who will save the world

There will always be a special place, for him to dwell in my heart

Keep me in this dream, like a baby I will sleep, 

There will always be, a special place, for him in my heart 

Bridge:

The real meaning of Christmas, is not what's on your wish list 

It's about the gift of love, your presence makes life so perfect

3rd Verse:

Merry Christmas, Baby

Merry Christmas, you're all I need 

*To listen to and/or download the song, feel free to go to: https://jimgaven.bandcamp.com/track/merry-christmas-baby and share it with any family or friends who may be interested.*

"It's Christmas" (Music and Lyrics by Jim Gaven)

1st Verse:

Stockings hang from the chimney

ornaments hanging from a tree

mistletoe hangs from the ceiling

if you catch my drift, you'll get the feeling

it's Christmas, yeah, Christmas

It only comes one day a year

but it fills our hearts with joy and cheer

hanging wreaths on every door

anticipating a baby boy

it's Christmas, yeah, Christmas 

Chorus:

You can't explain it or describe it

You can't contain a gift that's heaven sent

I'm so excited I could shout it

We rejoice, our voices sing

Christmas is alive in you and me

2nd Verse:

Lights are hanging from every house 

and garland lines this tinsel town 

Right by the fire, we say a prayer, 

Then, a sense of magic is in the air (everywhere) 

it's Christmas, yeah, Christmas

Chorus:

You can't explain it or describe it

You can't contain a gift that's heaven sent

I'm so excited I could shout it

We rejoice, our voices sing

Christmas is alive in you and me

Bridge:

It's something spiritual, it's like a miracle, believing in, what, you can't see

faith and hope in us, now I am so in love  

it's the greatest gift, we, all, can receive

Chorus:

You can't explain it or describe it

You can't contain a gift that's heaven sent

I'm so excited I could shout it

We rejoice, our voices sing

Christmas is alive in you and me

*Again, to listen to and/or download the song, feel free to go to: https://jimgaven.bandcamp.com/track/its-christmas and share it with any family or friends who may be interested.*

Thank you so much for your support as it is much appreciated. Let us always remember the "reason for the season".

Merry Christmas!

success
Like

About the Creator

Jim Gaven

My mission is to write inspirational stories that make you feel good about yourself, put a smile on your face, and think of things in a different way.

www.keyofawesomemusic.com

www.jimgaven.bandcamp.com

www.patreon.com/keyofawesomemusic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.