Motivation logo

The Power of Words

How words affect us. by Kathleen J Merry.

By Kathleen MerryPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
The Power of Words
Photo by Max Brown on Unsplash

Did you know that words are very powerful. They can either build up or tear down. Words are alive, they are active, and can be as sharp as a sword.
It is important that we watch our words. Over the years I have met many people. Who have been held captive by someone’s words. People do not realise that sometimes they even curse themselves. When you say I am sick, depressed, angry et cetera you’re actually bring these things upon yourself. You are owning it. Not only is it important that we watch our words, but that we do not accept negative words , spoken over us. It can be so easily done. I have seen too many people crushed, by something that was said about them. There’s an old ,saying sticks and stones ,will break my bones, but names will never hurt me.That is a lie. People will heal from broken bones, in a matter of weeks. But people can live a life time, with things that have been said to them, at sometime in their life.

How many times have you heard someone say, you’re stupid, you’re fat, you’re ugly. No one can love you. You’re worthless, you’re wicked . All negative and disgusting things , to say to someone. I remember once a young child said to me I’m bad ,not me , the child. I told the child he wasn’t bad, He said to me yes I am , I’m bad I’m bad. I explained to the child, that he did something bad ,but that did not mean that he was bad. The child thought he was bad, because he was always been told this. I know of people who have IQ’s of a 160, who think they are stupid, because they were always been told that. I know, it’s the same for others who think they’re fat, or ugly . When the truth says differently.
There is another old saying. If you don’t have anything good to say , then say nothing. It is much better to build people up ,have faith in them belief in them. Many years ago I worked for a big national company, and one of the things that has stayed with me all these years. Was a conversation between two managers. They were watching a low paid cleaner, cleaning the floor. This person did not go to college, came from a poor background and ,did not have much in the way of improving his circumstances. One manager said to the other , I could take that cleaner , train him and have him working on a computer , in an office job within six months. They actually made a bet on it.

The first thing the manger did, was to talk with the cleaner. He praised him for the good work he was doing. He encouraged him, he built him up. He showed he had faith in him. After the six months was up.The cleaner was not only working in the office.He was actually training other people himself. We can make a great difference if we watch our words.

All of these stories are true, and this next one is so sad, but true. I counsel people sometimes. One day I had a young woman asked me, to come to her house and talk with her.She wasn’t able to speak freely to me when I met her, because her husband was nearby. I made arrangements with her and later on that week, I went to her home. I thought it was her home. But in actual fact it was her mothers home. She told me she was living with her mother and her young son. I asked her why? And she told me that her husband, was abusing her and the child. I asked her to tell me a little about her husband, she said he is so angry all the time, he goes into fits of rage. Then she said something very very telling, basically the root cause of the problem. She said he is always saying, I am raging. He was inviting that rage into himself. I am sure many of you have heard the saying.The pen is sharper than the sword. Why? because the pen writes words.

believe it or not but, there is energy in words.There is a positive energy or negative.Garbage in,is garbage out. You are actually defiling yourself,when you are being negative,it is destructive. What a difference we make to others life’s,when we say something so simple like. you look lovely today. or well done. Or I knew you could do it. Or Your so clever. What a community we would have, if we just build everyone up. Once something has been said , it cannot be unsaid. People will say things like I take that back,or I wish I could take that back. Or I did not mean it. But the truth is, once it is out there, it cannot be taken back, and it will leave a wound.

I remember once ,working with someone who was very hard to like,This person was always swearing at me,cursing me,and I dreaded actually being in that persons company.I determined in myself not to be put off.to treat this person the way I wanted to be treated. So I would tell her every time I saw her.I love you.I did not feel that love in my heart,to be honest, but I kept saying it anyway.Then one day several months later, I realised I genuinely loved that person, She became one of my favourite people.

We can change our circumstance, we can change our environment,and we can change our hearts, so much so that it sets us free. Sets us free from others who want to control. I am a great believer that love changes everything. but Also our words.

advice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.