Motivation logo

The Power of Choice

There is no right or wrong choice you make in life. It will all lead you to exactly where you're meant to be.

By Deana RamseyPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

When we are faced with a challenge in life and we are asked to make a choice, there is never a good or bad decision. As I believe we are meant to go through certain obstacles to help us appreciate the journey as a whole. There may be times where you look back and feel like you could of handled the situation better, but instead of feeling regret, understand you have now learnt from it & if you're ever up against the same situation again, it's possible to approach it differently. I do not believe in the perfect human being, this is why I feel it's important to be open to learning and growing as a person.

I look back at a certain time in my life where I was faced with a choice. I was in year 11 at high school, four days a week in class and one day I was out in a salon (hairdressing), for work experience—to be honest, I only really started the work experience to get out of school (sorry mum & dad), haha. Anyway, I completed year 11 and at the end of the work experience, the salon offered me an apprenticeship. I enjoyed hairdressing, as I loved the satisfaction of making someone feel beautiful once they left the salon. And for me, school was just a massive socializing activity as I didn't really enjoy anything about the actual schoolwork. So, I made the choice to leave school at year 11 to begin my journey as a hairdresser.

In the beginning I loved hairdressing, I loved the people I worked with, the salon, the clients, everything. I was making money working full-time, whilst still having time for my friends, soccer and myself. Life was great. Then about mid way through my apprenticeship, I received a letter in the mail, asking me to come to trials for NSR (National Scouting Report). This was trials for the opportunity to go play college soccer in the United States. It was massive news for me, I was so excited. So of course, I went to the trials, I still remember it so vividly. There was around 500 girls, I remember thinking 'wow there's no way I would get picked, there's so many outstanding players'. A few weeks passed & I got another letter; from the 500 or so girls, only 20 were selected to be interviewed, this was to ensure our school grades were all up to standards. WHAT!! I had been selected to go through to the next stage, I thought 'I must've impressed them! Mum & I went to the interview, they looked over my grades. But there was one problem, I didn't finish year 12. I needed to of finished and passed year 12, as I would have to also study at the college in the US as well as play soccer. I had tears in my eyes, thinking what can I do. It would be a dream of mine to play college soccer. The guy in the interview said, "If you go to night school and graduate from year 12 (may take you six months or so), we will give you a scholarship to live in the US, study and play soccer at a college."

So I was faced with yet, another choice. Now, let me remind you I was only 17 years old at this point, these 'choices' were difficult, as I felt it was something that would impact greatly on my future. I thought about it for a week or so, speaking with my parents. The college sent me a package stating that I had been accepted, provided I completed year 12. We went over all the pro's & con's we could think of.

Pro's being - To train/play soccer every day, to get a degree, to have the opportunity to play professionally, grow individually, living abroad you learn different culture.

Con's being - I was already half way through my apprenticeship, I had to complete year 12 whilst working, I was only 17, my parents weren't comfortable with me moving across to the US by myself, so they would need to relocate on a short terms basis.

So I came to the decision, that I would turn down the opportunity to play college soccer in the US. It wasn't easy, let me tell you; there were many tears, tantrums, fights and arguments. I had to make a choice. If I had that opportunity now at 27, I would take it. But I don't regret turning it down back then.

My journey through life has not been smooth sailing, I've had some amazing highs, and some depressing lows, but it has all lead to the person I am, and where I find myself today. Making choices from a young age, leads to independence. I no longer allow other opinions to impact the choices I make. In my opinion that's the most important thing, own your decisions and back yourself.

My advice if your ever faced with a decision that you're unsure of, wondering if it's the right or wrong choice. Is to go with what you feel is right in that moment, do it for you and don't be hard on yourself if it doesn't quite work out in your favour, or the way you saw it happening. Remember to appreciate the journey.

"The past can hurt, but the way I see it, you can either run from it or learn from it"—Rafiki

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.