Motivation logo

The Power of Being Vocal

Today I am expressing gratitude for the power that my voice holds.

By Ms.Jessica NayeliPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

A young girl was told to sit pretty and be quiet. The power and magnitude of those very words went on to shape her life without her even realizing it. Until she began her shadow work and unlearned old habits and patterns. If you can relate to this please keep reading, it only gets better from here.

Today I am expressing gratitude for the power that my voice holds. I am a powerful writer and woman and I had to learn this by diving deep into the unknown. To explore one’s self is hard because you are faced with the reality of who you are and most times we find that who we think we are is not actually who we truly are. Once you realize this everything begins to dissolve, like the persona hiding the true gem of the real you.

I began by dissolving the core beliefs by which I lived my life because these beliefs were NOT made by me, they were made by my parents and by the environment around me. I read somewhere or maybe heard it in a video “If the beliefs you have don’t bring you peace in difficult times, then you need to make different beliefs.” Sitting pretty and staying quiet was trapping me in challenging moments because sitting pretty and staying quiet got me nowhere new. New beginnings, was the goal. A positive mindset where I stood up for my truth, it all came down to the same things. I had no choice but to stand up and speak up.

Everyone speaks up in different ways and we’ve seen this clearly through 2020 with protests, art, music, writing, poetry, fashion, social media. People seem to be standing up and speaking up for what they believe. The Me Too movement allowed so many women to be heard, they said to hell with sitting pretty and being quiet. This whole year has been about speaking up. Black Lives Matter is now plastered across the world for everyone to see and hear. When you speak up people will hear, this was evident to me more than ever.

Truth is my voice has always been unique and mysterious, and raising it feels so good. Raising my voice and frequency alongside everyone else has made me grateful for my unique sound. When you speak someone always hears. It’s the law of the universe. Some of us think no one cares or no one is listening, but that’s just not valid in this reality anymore. The truth always comes out and the light is always shining. This is why all the people who have spoken up for their beliefs are being heard. New communities are being formed and they all started with a thought, then a leader, and communication now we have communities thriving all over the world showing us the power of coming together. This happens when people replace fear with courage and use their voice in a meaningful way.

The power of sound and the power of words is what creates worlds. Most of us have heard about the experiment where they speak kindly to one plant and it grows and speak hatefully toward the other plant and it withers. This is why the words we choose to say have such a high impact especially on the young who take in these words to heart. There is a responsibility we have to uphold when speaking to others and especially when speaking to ourselves. We can make or break this world with our voice. It’s time that we become conscious of the words we speak, and have the intention to speak from the heart, to speak truth, and to speak openly.

I am breaking my shell by making music, singing anywhere anytime, writing on “Vocal” and loving my unique voice. I want to encourage you to seek out your truth and make your presence more vivid and loud than you’ve ever had before. I am grateful for my voice, but I'm even more grateful for the listening ear that makes having my voice so much more worth it.

advice
1

About the Creator

Ms.Jessica Nayeli

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.