Motivation logo

The Notebook of Imagination

I started from Blank Pages

By Mark SmithPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
5
The Notebook of Imagination
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

My name is David, born into a shelter home with no money, hardly any food or consistent clothing, where me, my older sister Mary and my mother who became a single parent once she found out the news of her husband and my deceased father, that he gotten into a horrible plane crash while traveling overseas with his fellow troops and his command-in-chief to be at war with Iraq.

This incident happened when I was 3 and my mom was in her bedroom for a whole week depressed, sad and crying non-stop that she had lost the love of her life, the man of the household. I was too young to know what was going on, as that age my brain in it's receptive state was unable to process this tragic news about my dad.

The aftermath of my fathers passing, my mother would often tell Mary and I how proud and humbled dad was, but he was also a fighter who loved the country he served being in the army. She talked about how he had a struggling upbringing, a toxic childhood with his parents getting involved into drugs and always arguing.

David's dad was not so fortunate and lucky as a kid, his parents often didn't have money to pay the bills, barely any food in the house, stay at home mom who had mental problems. He was often bullied in school for having a learning disability. His dad would come home work drunk, looking to beat on mom and beat on his son.

David's father couldn't remember a time where there was any peace in his life, maybe except when he lost his virginity in Junior year.

I prominently callback to the stories of my father overcoming adversity and pursuing his dream as an American soldier and a proud family man that gave his life to ensure his family's safety. My dad was a badass in my world, a fighter, soldier, a leader and my hero.

Everything I knew about my dad, I wrote in this black notebook that I got from this lady at the shelter. I wrote alot about my dad and wrote in a conversational tone to him that, "one day I will become rich and move mom and sister into a really big house with an underground pool". The more I wrote, the more my hands got tired. Theres a page where I draw my dad wearing his uniform from the army and holding his gun and the American flag waving in the background. I put "R.I.P daddy".

By Jakob Owens on Unsplash

My older sister was a big fan of my newly found writing abilities, she saw how articulate my words came across on piece of paper. Every night I would write in my notebook, things such as my dreams, goals, places I wanted to travel too, food I would like to eat, my dream house and dream car....oh and alot of money...lots of it. That's the main thing my family didn't really have was money.

But something miraculous happened when I was 7 years old, my mom and sister and I had really gotten sick of living poor and settling for a shelter. One night I wrote in my notebook saying "I would really love to get out of this shelter and soon I will and my mom will get back on her feet" I kept saying this every night up until the day it actually happened, the state offered my mother a pretty decent paying job, she came into some welfare money that was $1400....enough to shove me and my sister in a rented mobile home around town, near her job.

I wrote it on my notebook, repeated night after night in repetition. We finally got out of the shelter. Every time I wrote "I will be a better football player" everyday in practice at school, I was improving my game. Watch the games back at home to learn my craft. I put my skills to use and brung home multiple championships for the team. When I wrote and repeated to myself "I will compete in the NFL" after high school, I was offered a scholarship to college football in Georgia. I didn't just speak my dream into existence of being a football player and a damn good one at that.

I wrote it down on my notebook that so far in my life has been the catalyst for my imaginative thoughts and the conversion of my reality being manifested.

I realized by the time I attended college, this notebook I have kept ever since I was kid stuck in a shelter. It has been the sole reason why I have been so successful in my life and was able to attract so many great blessings through writing in my notebook. A loyal and beautiful girlfriend that supports everything I do. A mom who got back on her feet as a manager at a restaurant she owns. A sister who became a makeup artist. My dream car that I always envisioned of driving. Competing in the NFL. It all happened due to my emotional-provoking imagination that translated onto paper and into it's physical counterpart.

By KAL VISUALS on Unsplash

After various tryouts from different squads, I was contacted by the coach of the Georgia Bulldogs to come out for a tryout and I knew based on the power of my imagination and my athletic gift of playing football, the coach was very impressed with my ability to play ball and no time signed me to a contract that would forever change my life.

After the very first game, which we won, I went back to my apartment and checked my mailbox and nothing was in there. Until I was stopped by the mailman who just in time handed me this blank envelope, I eagerly opened it and it was my 1st football check that was made out to me for $20,000. I was stoked and in awe, I had finally hit the big bucks and I was ready to share the happy news with my family and my soon to be wife.

The point was, I used the power of my imagination to filter out my thoughts of getting out of my situation and using my notebook to physically see my desires written out. I kept applying the law of attraction into my life and the universe was blessing me with what my imagination created. This was all in repetition and burning desire to change my circumstance and not let it define me. With that $20k I was able to obtain the dream house I always dreamt of living in.

I strongly believe all this success I have achieved was all because of my dad guiding me in spirit. To writing in that notebook every night and seeing my life transformed from my own words into reality.

There's a secret to having a notebook that not alot of people know about, its the power of your words that create buzz signals into your subconscious mind. What you speak or write of into existence will soon manifest and come back to you. Its about knowing what you truly desire. It's important to write in your notebook. Its like you're journal guide to happy living.

I started from blank pages and now they're all written up.

success
5

About the Creator

Mark Smith

Youtuber, Podcaster, Blogger, Freelancer Writer & Putting the Lord 1st

Your attitude towards life is what's going to be life's attitude towards you.

Nature heals the soul.

I don't walk with the crowd, I walk solo dolo.

Be YOU.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.