Motivation logo

The High Road

How? Is what we ask...

By Elvis MalcolmKing MatosPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Perspective is key

How do you get to the high road?

How do you get from the low road to walk the high road? Like driving on the highway, you must take the necessary exit to get to where you're going from where you've been, and in that same spirit you must take the necessary exit from the low road in order to get to the high road of life. Even deeper on the matter, you must keep your eye on the prize, just like keeping your eye on the signs of the road so you don't end up missing your opportunity to make your exit. Otherwise you risk staying where you don't want to be longer than you have to. Always stay focused on your dream and your goals, because no one else is going to do it for you, and anyone that claims they'll look out will always let you down or do it at a price. Let me tell you now, that there's no price great enough to buy off your dreams and goals, so allowing control of your power to someone else will never result the way it would if you yourself took control like you should have in the first place.

So now you haven't grown enough to keep up with your own dreams and goals, so it doesn't mean as much because there's a price cap on that which, in reality, is priceless. How ridiculous does it sound to pay a stranger for dreaming your dream and pursuing your goals? As ridiculous as it is, the sadness in that is that it happens more often then it should due to the lack of confidence in yourself, the lack of self worth, the lack of love for you and your existence in this world because your existence has a purpose and you do matter. I know this to be true because why else would you hold a space on this earth other than for a purpose? Do you think it was accidental? That you were a mistake? I thought I was, because I was lacking the vision and open mind at the time due to my own negative thoughts and the environment around me sure didn't help any either. So what changed? Where did I decide all of a sudden that I'm worth the time, the effort, the space, the opportunity to live out my dreams and pursue my goals without the permission, the approval and the acceptance of anybody else? For me it happened the day I finally stood up to this obstacle in my life. Scary thought was that she gave birth to me,

I was 18 years old, and like any young man at that age I was troubled, at a crossroads of my very young life; looking for who I was and what purpose was to me. Feeling fed up with the negative energy I had immediately to defend myself and it was nerve wracking. My logic was, what more can this person do to me that hasn't been done? I'm not on misguided impressions that I looked threatening and felt powerful for it because I didn't. I was relieved but broken for having stepped into such an unknown place but it was necessary I stayed the course and made my first exit from this cycle of abuse that more common than not young ladies and gents cannot escape, or feel a sense of obligation due to traditions that mean well but are met with high and low struggles of dissatisfaction that evidently takes an unintended and toxic toll on the young impression.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.