Motivation logo

The Grace of a Woman

The power of belief and how it shapes our character

By Brenda MartinezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
6

Motherhood is like growing a magnificent garden. You don't necessarily have to have a green thumb to grow your favorite fruits and vegetables, though it does take a certain level of commitment and dedication to see that your crops are flourishing healthily and beautifully. Trusting that once you've planted those roots, you don't have to constantly watch them in order for them to grow. With time and patience you will see the wonders blossom. This is how my mother raised me. She planted her seeds into my mind and allowed them to take root at their natural pace, nourished the growth in my brain, and allowed me to make decisions based on what was manifesting in my mind. Certain roots needed to be rejected and otherwise did not grow. As a wise woman once told me, "Your thoughts are only what you manifest in your mind. If you spend enough time believing that you are not good enough your brain will begin to believe that is the truth." Those seeds of doubt were planted in my mind as a test. I had two options: to feed the weeds and allow them to clutter my thoughts, or to pull them and create room for a more beneficial assortment.

I will forever be grateful for my mother teaching me how to think independently. She was a quiet woman which always gave me reason to believe that she had so much wisdom to express from within herself, like a shinning bright light, seldom dimming. The purpose of this analogy is to represent how the world and social media culture shapes our beliefs about ourselves and the world around us. Not everything you read in the media is the truth, and a lot of times people can say things to you that instantly register as being the truth though are often times unkind and untruthful. It takes a strong level of mental power to identify what is the truth, and my mother has blessed me with this gift.

Essentially, you are the only person who can decide what is important to you. Mothers are there to guide us on how we should think. If it wasn't for my mother's disciplined way of thinking I would believe that I am unworthy of love, not smart or pretty enough- that I would be going to hell for having conflicting views about my father's religion. I would feel incapable of making it in this world, and would end it all if I didn't believe what my mother had been trying to teach me all of these years: That I hold the cards and that I am responsible for what my life will become. The same can be told to anyone. If you walk through this life believing that you are saved my the grace of God, you will be. Descartes said "Cogito, ergo sum" which translates to mean "I think, therefore I am." This quote should resonate in your minds before you consider accepting that unconstructive criticism your nagging boss gave you or before believing that you are inadequate and therefore incapable of accomplishing your goals. No matter where you come from; a suburban upper class neighborhood, quiet middle-class home, or from the more rural community- remember that you are human and many things will feel impossible though you have the same opportunities to accomplish greatness like the next person. Some will have to work harder, but do not let that discourage you. If you can image yourself getting that promotion or becoming a famous writer like you've always dreamed of: You can do it. Contemplate what it will take to get there and make it reality. Let this be my way of spreading the knowledge and power of belief my mother gave to me.

advice
6

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.