Motivation logo

The Gift of Using Your Voice

Changing Your Life by Speaking Up

By Brandy EnnPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
My current office setup

My Days

I spend most of my days with little to no downtime, but I enjoy every single second of it. I am a mother to an amazing five-year-old. I am married and we also have two cats. I'm currently studying cybersecurity full time and just made the Dean's List. Professionally, I create and present trainings to new Medicaid employees, and it's the most rewarding job I've ever had. Some of my trainees have gone on to work in very high positions and I am incredibly proud of them! One thing that really helps me with my presentation is my voice. I've heard so many times that it's soft and soothing, yet I am not afraid to speak my mind. This may have inflated my ego just slightly, but it was needed. This time last year I suffered with severe depression, anxiety, and was having a hard time in life. I've done all of the following using my voice in some way within the last year:

Bedtime with Baby Naut

I'm currently in the process of hosting and producing a podcast with my daughter called "Bedtime with Baby Naut." Fun fact: I once convinced a few hundred people on the internet that my daughter's name was Astra'Naut, and it stuck. If you hear a friend of a friend who knows a mom whose kid's name is Astra'Naut, that's us! I won't say what her real name is. It's not as fun.

On the podcast we read children's stories, do some stretches, and dance. The bedtime story portion is done in a soft voice that is meant to help put kiddos to sleep. Not to brag, but I believe we've made about $0.07 now . . . from advertising space. It's not about the money though. It's so fun to be able to do something that includes my voice for children. We are currently streaming across 7 platforms and episode 2 comes out soon!

Career Consulting

I have recently started career consulting. My voice is used here to help others build confidence in themselves. My clients and I can sometimes talk for hours and I consistently hear the same things. They feel like they're not good enough for the job they want. My job is to convince them that they're wrong and to help them to feel good enough about themselves to know they truly can be anything they want to be. We also mock interviews to ease that anxiety of going in blindly after the first interview in a very long time for some.

Strong Women Raise Strong Girls

I love spending my time teaching my daughter about important historical and modern women who in some way, shape, or form have changed the world. Recently I taught her about Katherine Johnson, who is famous for her incredible mathematics that helped us go to space. Her semi-autobiography just came out! Ruth Bader Ginsburg was an Associate Supreme Court Justice, and she fought her entire life for women's rights. All the way to the right is Billie Eilish, who I am far too big of a fan of at 30 years old. The third photo is my daughter, who I tell every day to use her voice so she can grow up in a world where strong women are the majority.

You Did Not Wake Up Today To Be Mediocre

On the wall behind my camera I have been spending a lot of time decorating and making a place of acceptance and motivation for all who see it. Among motivational posters are some beautiful messages of how black women are changing the world and leading our country (from Mixtiles Art). It's so important to me that new hires feel welcome, at home, and know how capable they are of doing anything they set their minds to.

Plant Mama

I've been teaching my daughter about plants lately. I have ten that have flourished through love, care, and maybe a little singing to them. It's important to me that my daughter helps to care for living things and understands how important plant life is for our environment.

Makeup Tutorials

One thing I really enjoy doing is makeup. I love teaching my daughter that even though she is beautiful inside and out, making yourself feel beautiful on days when you don't think you are is an amazing feeling. We have plans to son start our own makeup tutorial YouTube channel about skincare products and other things that make us feel refreshed and pretty! Before this year I hadn't done my makeup regularly in several years.

My Mental Health Today

Today is night and day compared to where I used to be. Among everything else discussed here, I have also started journaling and writing. I feel better about myself and my life. I feel like I have a true purpose. Being so busy can sometimes be extremely hectic, but I'm so lucky to be here today!

success
Like

About the Creator

Brandy Enn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.