Motivation logo

The Art of Reading and Writing!

The beginning of my 2 passions

By WendyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

When I was a kid, I loved to read the Baby-Sitters Club book series. I occasionally also liked to read some of the Goosebumps books.

I also loved journaling time in class at school. My stories would go on for pages. I just loved creating make-believe stories. I remember one was about:

What happened when the president of the United States came to my house for dinner?

This was during the time that Ronald Reagan was the current president.

Then I became a 14-year-old girl and started reading Zebra historical romance novels. This was the closest I came to enjoying history.

In school, I was really bad in history. I got nothing but Ds and Fs in class and on my report cards.

But despite my problems in school history class I loved every historical romance book I could get my hands on.

My writing at that time in my life consisted of writing poems. And journaling in a journaling book. Except for one fictional story.

One of my best friends in 9th grade and I used to pass a notebook back and forth to each other adding a little bit more to the story. I would add a little bit. Then she would write a bit. Then back to me.

I am kind of sad that it has come up missing over the years and I can’t refine and finish it and then publish it with both of our names. It could’ve been an interesting YA novel. *sigh* Oh well that’s how it goes, I guess.

As I became an adult and started my family and life, journaling and an occasional poem became the extent of my writing. As for my reading, I still continued to read every historical romance I was able to get my hands on.

My father always said I should read important books that I could learn something from. He always thought I was wasting for my life reading what I was.

Basically, I was just meandering through life with no real purpose.

It all changed one day .

All this changed when I received a Dave Ramsey money management book for my birthday one year. Then I enrolled in a Brown Mackie College for their accounting program.

This took me into research mode for the past 11 years. I researched ways to budget money, ways to save money on your normal everyday expenses all the way to ways to make money online and writing.

Occasionally I still read just for the entertainment aspect with the JD Robb in death series or the Janette Evanovich number series or a romantic series with vampires and shifters.

But 90% of my reading is about writing and online businesses. I even watch lots of YouTube videos on these topics.

And my writing? It is now an occasional short story but mostly nonfiction articles and books.

So, what’s the point?

The point I am trying to make is when done right reading and writing can give you a fulfilling life and earn a good living.

Making a living with your writing where you don’t have to hold down a tiering low paying 9 to 5 job just to make ends meet, won’t happen overnight but if you be patient and persistent it will happen eventually.

As for your reading habit? Keep reading. Read everything you can get your hands on. Learn everything you can about writing. Learn everything you can about the topic you’re writing about. Learn about everything you want to put into your novel.

Just keep reading!

Just keep writing!

You do these two things you will get better and you will begin to make money doing something you love.

Keep at it. Don’t give up if it doesn’t happen overnight. You can get there eventually.

advice
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.