Motivation logo

Tara Hallett

Confidence PLUS Talent!

By Amy PhilbertPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
4

I was so honored to talk with plus size model and actress, Tara Hallett! Tara is so inspiring with her interview and work in the industry and I truly feel that she is exactly what the industry needs to know that talent and confidence doesn't come bottled in just a size 2!

Q: How did you get into the field of acting?

A: Beautiful People,

I was 5 years old when I was interested in acting. When I was about 15 or 16 that I knew I had the passion for the arts. When I was in high school, I decided that I wanted to try theater. What truly got me into acting? As a young child I would create these scenes in my head. I would create the dialogue the plot, the gender, the age, what does my character want to accomplish, their back story, etc. With all of this thought process, I just knew acting was for. After high school, I went straight into college. I still have this drive of passion for acting. The community college I attend their only theater class. Since I was in that class, the instructor wanted to do a production for the college and for the public. I enjoy the process, but personally I would not want to do that for a living. I just did not feel the connection or the feel of the rush of adrenaline. I wanted something more than theater. I thought about TV & Film so I gave it a try. I did my first 48 hours film festival called Monster Flaws. I enjoyed the process of the filming putting the costumes together, help putting on make-up. I am grateful to watch Director Bryan Hill working on his vision. I have learned so much from Bryan, after working with him I knew I was in the right place.

Q: Who are your biggest supporters?

A: None of this would have been possible without Becky Hallett (mom). She has truly been through think and thin. She has put up a lot of my darkest days, to better times from my freak out’s, to laughing with me for getting into things. I would not change it any other way. I am grateful to have her in my corner. Another big supporter in my life is Sarah Smart (best friend) she’s more of a sister. I can recall the first time we meet, we had English in college together. The moment she walking in my heart started to beat faster and faster. I had a thought pop in my mind saying “I want to be her friend” I remember trying to get her attention, inside I was like a kid looking over the counter trying to see I was hopping in my mind. The very first conversation I knew I made a good choice to be her friend. Ever since then we have this nonstop growing friendship. She has truly inspired me to be more positive, she has inspire me to loving myself. Sarah and I understand each other, we both think a lot, we both love animals etc. But she is a true friend who I am proud to call her a sister.

Q: Do you have any other hidden talents?

A: Not only do I just act, I’m also a plus size model.

Q: Do you ever feel that being plus size holds you back? How do you deal with people who try to discourage you?

A: Do I ever feel my physical Aspects hold me back? The most honest answer I can give is absolutely not. It does not matter your size is and you should feel great with who you are as a person. I’m not just talking about females I am including males as well. Nothing in this world is worth holding back. Never let anyone decide what you are going to do. I have had people talk down on me telling me I can’t do that. But I told them this is not their life and what you think is all that matters. I have had some heart to heart talk with some people who I thought was in my corner but, I had to have this talk with them because they negative and they brought me down. I know many people who struggle with this, it’s the negative thoughts that can have a huge impact on your life physically and mentally. I have doubts about a lot of things personally. At the end of day, I have to remember I am who I am and I need to be grateful for what I do have as an actress. I do this everyday before I start the day, I say “I am drop dead gorgeous”.

Q: What words of advice do you have for anyone wanting to get into the industry?

A: Never beat yourself down just because you are plus size. You are loved, and just as gorgeous just like that model on TV.

Q: What was the first project you worked on in film?

A: My first project I work on as an actress was a short film. It was a practice run before the kickstart of the 48-hour Film Festival. This film was called Mother Malice by Director Bryan Hill. I was playing a crazy fan because I read many articles about the killer. You can watch it on Monster Flaws on YouTube. I will be starring in my new feature film Monitor which will be directed by the talented Curtis Everitt. I have worked with Curtis before and I have always been inspired by his positive vibe.

Q: Do you feel you are discriminated against because you are plus size? What closing remarks do you have?

A: Do I feel discriminated because of being plus size? Yes, I feel most of the time. At times I will come across a casting call and they are looking for females that are a size 2. I feel this is not right, everyone should feel include no matter what. Not everyone can be a size two because some people are not made for that. This should never discourage anyone, you are plus size for a reason, your job is to make it look good. Always do what you love. No one is worth your time and effort if they make you feel disappointed because of your size. You are the only one who can ever be satisfied. You should never feel discriminated, we are all different in our own ways. If you want to act, model, direct, dance or anything in the film industry. You can truly do anything all you have to do is make sure your heart is in it and your mind in the right direction. It does not matter about your background, your family’s history, what you look like, what your ethnicity, or region you believe. What truly matters is that you put the best version of yourself forward also believe in yourself. At times you will get overwhelmed trying to break into the industry. Remember the person you are trying to become and where you came from. Read and do your research. You amazing and no one can take this wonderful opportunity way from you. Girls don’t worry about those numbers, because you are drop dead gorgeous.#foreverworkingactor

Be sure to follow me on social media and check out my IMDb page so you can stay up on the date.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/p/CQeNEcogqTj/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TaraMadisonHallett

IMDbPro: https://pro.imdb.com/name/nm11422771

interview
4

About the Creator

Amy Philbert

I am a plus size Model, Actress, Filmmaker, Writer, Blogger, podcast Co-Host, Casting Director and Interviewer who is just trying to shed some light on a world that can sometimes feel dark.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.